Adelaide United Women
Brisbane Roar FC Women
Westfield W-League R13
Marden Sports Complex

Roar within reach of Premiers' Plate after overcoming Adelaide

Brisbane Roar have one hand on a third Westfield W-League premiership following a nervy 4-2 away win over a brave Adelaide United on Sunday.

The visitors scored three times inside the final 20 minutes at Marden Sports Complex to complete a thrilling come-from-behind victory that moves them three points clear in first with one round remaining.

Knowing a result would swing the Premiers' Plate back away from Sydney FC, Roar began brightly as Hayley Raso exchanged passes with Allira Toby before finishing clinically past Sarah Willacy to open the scoring after 20 minutes.

This lead lasted scarcely a minute though, with Makenzy Doniak making no mistake to cap off Emily Condon’s excellent work on the right wing.

Adelaide, aiming to avoid the wooden spoon, continued to grow in confidence after the break and took a shock lead on the hour through Emily Condon, who headed home at close-range after her initial shot against the crossbar was turned back toward goal by Alex Chidiac.

Adelaide United
Adelaide appeared on track for a surprise third victory.

But just as an upset was brewing, Toby restored parity for Roar by beating Willacy to Raso’s cross and tapping home.

Willacy then produced a top class save to prevent her side from falling behind to an own goal, but she couldn’t repeat the feat from the resulting corner as the delivery bounced in off Jenna McCormick’s shoulder.

Emily Gielnik added a late fourth with a precise lob to complete the scoring, which leaves Roar needing only a point at home to Canberra United in the final round to seal the silverware, while Adelaide must secure a result against Melbourne Victory to be any chance of avoiding bottom spot.

Brisbane Roar
Roar regained control over their own destiny.
Westfield W-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4