Melbourne City FC Women
Perth Glory Women
Westfield W-League R10
CB Smith Reserve

Ruthless City crush Glory in ninth straight win

Melbourne City FC has won its record ninth straight win of the 2015-16 Westfield W-League season, defeating Perth Glory 4-0 at CB Smith Reserve on Sunday.

The hosts equaled Sydney FC’s tally set in 2009-10 with Kim little, Marianna Tabain, Larissa Crummer and Jess Fishlock scoring after the break.

The hosts should have however taken the lead within the opening 45 minutes.

Skipper Lisa De Vanna lobbed her attempt just over the bar from close range before Steph Catley had her effort from six yards deflected out for a corner ten minutes later.

Glory ‘keeper MacKenzie Arnold was on call a number of times throughout the first half.

The custodian thwarted Rebekah Stott’s long-range strike, before punching clear a number of crosses.

Matilda Caitlin Foord tried her best to get her side on the score sheet, shooting from range without troubling Brianna Davey in goals.

However the deadlock was broken just after the hour mark.

Little dribbled her way into the area, striking powerfully into the top corner to hand her side the lead.

Substitute Tabain was next to capitalise on City’s momentum.

With her first touch of the match, the attacker netted for the fifth time this season after latching onto a loose ball inside the penalty area.

Crummer – the Westfield W-League’s leading goal scorer – then added her 11th goal of the season, side footing in De Vanna’s cross between two defenders, before Fishlock finished Kim Little’s through ball in the 93rd minute.

Westfield W-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4