Melbourne City FC Women
Sydney FC Women
Westfield W-League R2

Spencer hat-trick gifts City win in Grand Final re-match

A hat-trick from Jasmyne Spencer has earnt Melbourne City their first win of the Westfield W-League season, defeating Sydney FC 3-1 at AAMI Park on Friday night.

The American striker scored twice in the second half to give City a win in the Grand Final re-match and in the process become the club’s first player to score a hat-trick in the Westfield W-League.

The game began in a cagey fashion, however it was the home side who were creating the best chances.

Indeed, it only took them 13 minutes to make it count on the scoreboard with Spencer opening her account for City, slaloming between two Sydney defenders and unleashing a shot with the outside of her boot to leave goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe clutching at air.

The team in City Blue continued to push forward but were left to rue a switch-off at the back as Sydney drew level through Young Matilda Amy Sayer.

Sayer, on debut, buried the re-bound from Lisa De Vanna’s shot after City goalkeeper Lydia Williams palmed her save directly into the path of the incoming Sayer.

It was Sayer who should have given the Sky Blues the lead straight after half-time but was unable to get on the end of a fantastic cross from De Vanna.

Ante Juric’s side would live to regret that miss as Spencer was able to do what Sayer could not, connecting with Helen Caceres’ cross to grab her second and put City ahead.

Jasmyne Spencer 3

Then on the hour mark she had her third, gathering a delightful through ball from Rhali Dobson and unleashing an unstoppable shot past Bledsoe.

Sydney were given a glimmer of hope with 15 minutes to go when City defender Chelsea Blissett was sent off for fouling Sydney striker Savannah McCaskill, who was through on goal.

It mattered little however with City’s defence holding firm, Williams pulling off a number of fine saves to ensure all three points stayed in Melbourne.

Westfield W-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4