Melbourne Victory Women
Canberra United Women
Westfield W-League R1
Epping Stadium

Dowie scores winner as Victory defeat Canberra United

English goal machine Natasha Dowie has scored the winner to give Melbourne Victory a perfect start to the season with a 2-1 win over Canberra United on Saturday. 

Earlier, Kristen McNabb had given the Big V an early lead with a header. 

Westfield Matildas striker Michelle Heyman equalised later in the first stanza before Dowie's game-winner just after the hour mark. 

Heyman chased down an errant back pass and smothered Dumont’s attempted clearance with the ball falling loose. Heyman made no mistake as she rolled the loose ball into the net to deservedly restore parity for the visitors.

Michelle Heyman
Michelle Heyman with the equaliser for Canberra United

With scores level at the break the second half began much more quietly than the first, and Victory looked to use their weight of possession as they searched for openings in the visitor’s backline.

Victory suddenly had an opening after the hour mark as Dumont’s long ball found Dowie racing through, and although Kopmeyer got a touch as the striker looked to round her, Dowie finished calmly from the angle to give Victory the lead back.

Heyman had a great chance to pull United level with less than 15 minutes to go as she pounced on another sloppy back pass, but appeared to get the ball caught in her feet as she went past Dumont and the Victory custodian was able to claim the ball.

The hosts sat deep as the game wore on and United struggled to break them down, eventually seeing off the defending Premiers' final attacks to claim a 2-1 victory.

Victory will face Melbourne City in a Melbourne derby next weekend, while Canberra United have the bye before facing Sydney FC at McKellar Park in Round 3.






Related news

Westfield W-League 2019/20
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne City FC Women 10 9 1 0 28
Sydney FC Women 10 7 1 2 22
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Women 10 6 1 3 19
Melbourne Victory Women 10 5 2 3 17
Brisbane Roar FC Women 10 4 2 4 14
Canberra United Women 11 4 1 6 13
Perth Glory Women 10 2 2 6 8
Newcastle Jets Women 10 2 1 7 7
Adelaide United Women 11 1 1 9 4