Western Sydney Wanderers FC Women
Perth Glory Women
Westfield W-League R6
Marconi Stadium

Kerr fires Glory to win over Wanderers

Sam Kerr scored the only goal as Perth Glory moved three points clear atop the Westfield W-League with a 1-0 win at Western Sydney Wanderers on Friday.

Glory captain Kerr capped a stunning individual week in which she was named AFC Women's Player of the Year on Wednesday night in Bangkok by notching the winner shortly after half-time in western Sydney. 

The Westfield Matildas star raced onto Rachel Hill's through ball and rounded goalkeeper Jada Mathyssen-Whyman before applying the finish that helps, at least momentarily, extend Perth's lead in first.

Wanderers, meanwhile, remain five points shy of the top four after suffering their third defeat in five matches.

Sam Kerr
Sam Kerr proved the difference.

It was the visitors who created the lion's share of the chances at Marconi Stadium, with Kerr and Marianna Tabain both going close in the first half and another returnee from international duty, Raquel Rodriguez, almost making it 2-0 late on.

Glory's goal itself was superbly executed, Kerr latching on to a fine ball from Hill and calmly rounding goalkeeper Jada Whyman before finding the empty net.

The hosts' best chance, meanwhile, came on the hour-mark when Lo'eau La Bonta's  free-kick was well saved by Melissa Maizels in the Glory goal.

La Bonta continued to be Wanderers' main threat throughout a lively encounter, but she failed to convert several decent half-chances as Glory held out to secure their fourth win in six games this season and their second on the road.

And in another plus for Bobby Despotovski's side, Nikki Stanton completed her return to full fitness as she came on for Nicola Bolger at the start of the second half.

Glory's gruelling travel schedule continues next week when they head east once again, this time to take on Newcastle Jets at McDonald Jones Stadium on Saturday.

Western Sydney Wanderers 0 Perth Glory 1 (Kerr 50')

Half-time 0-0

Marconi Stadium, Fairfield

Kick-Off: 4:30pm (Local) (4:30pm (AEDT))

Referee: Maddison Kennedy

Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Ho

Assistant Referee 2: Anastasia Filacouridis

Fourth Official: Kelly Jones

Western Sydney Wanderers FC Squad: 1.Jada WHYMAN (gk), 2.Maruschka WALDUS, 3.Jennifer BISSET (17.Katelyn LEADBEATTER 89'), 6.Lo’eau LABONTA, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Erica HALLOWAY, 9.Rosie SUTTON (12.Rachel LOWE 71'), 10.Lee FALKON, 11.Marlous PIEETE, 13.Olivia PRICE (5.Kahlia HOGG 52'), 15.Talitha KRAMER

Substitutes not used: 20.Trudy BURKE (gk)

Yellow cards: None

Red cards: None

Perth Glory: 18.Melissa MAIZELS (GK), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Natasha RIGBY, 8.Shawn BILLAM (6.Danielle BROGAN 70'), 9.Rachel HILL, 10.Raquel RODRIGUEZ, 11. Nicola BOLGER (7.Nicole STANTON 46'), 16.Amanda FRISBIE, 17.Marianna TABAIN (5.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS 84'), 20.Samantha KERR (c)

Substitutes not used: 30.Morgan AQUINO (GK)

Yellow cards: Kerr 60'

Red cards: None

Westfield W-League 2019/20
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne City FC Women 10 9 1 0 28
Sydney FC Women 10 7 1 2 22
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Women 10 6 1 3 19
Melbourne Victory Women 10 5 2 3 17
Brisbane Roar FC Women 10 4 2 4 14
Canberra United Women 11 4 1 6 13
Perth Glory Women 10 2 2 6 8
Newcastle Jets Women 10 2 1 7 7
Adelaide United Women 11 1 1 9 4