Australia wins big at AFC awards

Australian players, coaches, referees and clubs have scooped the pool at the AFC awards overnight in Manila winning a number of major awards.

AFC Women’s Player of the Year was presented to Westfield Matildas playmaker Katrina Lee Gorry.

Tony Popovic was awarded AFC Coach of the Year after guiding Western Sydney Wanderers FC to the ACL crown in November.

The Wanderers were also crowned Club of the Year after their fairytale run to the final in Riyadh where they defeated Al-Hilal over two legs. 

Socceroo skipper Mile Jedinak was given the accolade of International Player of the Year after a standout season with Crystal Palace, while Matthew Cream was awarded Assistant Referee of the Year.

Gorry beat two-time winner Aya Miyama and Nadeshiko teammate Nahomi Kawasumi to claim the prestigious award, becoming the second Australian to do so following Westfield Matildas teammate Kate Gill in 2010.  

The 22-year-old played a crucial role in Australia’s run to the AFC Women’s Asian Cup final in Vietnam in May, scoring three spectacular goals throughout the tournament as the Westfield Matildas lost to Japan in the decider.

Gorry flew to the Philippines following Saturday’s 2-1 win over Canberra United at Suncorp Stadium, where she scored a spectacular long-distance goal to seal the win for Brisbane Roar.

Brisbane Roar’s Westfield W-League playing stocks now boast Asia’s best female footballer, Gorry, as well as the reigning FIFA Ballon d’Or winner Nadine Angerer.

For all the winners, head to