Brisbane Roar FC take out Westfield W-League 2017/18 Premiership

Brisbane Roar FC  claimed their third Westfield W-League Premiership on Sunday following a thrilling final match day of the Westfield W-League 2017/18 season.

With Sydney FC kicking off their derby match against the Western Sydney Wanderers FC thirty minutes beforehand, Brisbane Roar FC knew going into their fixture against Canberra United that a win or a draw would guarantee them top spot on the ladder and the Premiers Plate.

A Sydney FC win and Brisbane Roar FC loss would have handed the Premiers Plate to the Sky Blues.

Sydney FC applied the pressure early scoring three goals in the first half of courtesy of Chloe Logarzo, Caitlin Foord and Caitlin Cooper.

Remy Siemson added Sydney FC’s fourth shortly after the start of the second half, but Brisbane Roar FC were up to the challenge scoring twice in their first stanza through Hayley Raso and Emily Gielnik.

Sydney FC conceded a late goal, but got the three valuable points to keep them in contention. All they could do at full-time was pray for a late Canberra United fightback.

Unfortunately for Sydney FC, their prayers went unanswered.

Abbey Lloyd scored Brisbane Roar’s third in the72nd-minute goal, but Elise Thorsnes replied two minutes later with a goal to give Canberra United a slight glimmer of hope.

Lloyd then doubled her tally in the 90th minute to seal a memorable 4-1 victory.

Shortly after the full-time whistle Brisbane Roar FC were presented with the Westfield W-League Premiers Plate by Greg O’Rourke, Head of Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League.

Sydney FC will now take their white-hot form into next weekend’s Westfield W-League 2018 Semi-Finals when they face the Newcastle Jets at Leichhardt Oval (Saturday, 10 February 2018) with Brisbane Roar FC hosting last season’s Champions Melbourne City FC at Perry Park the following day (Sunday 11 February 2018).

The winners of the two Semi-Finals will meet in the Westfield W-League 2018 Grand Final on Sunday 18 February to determine this season’s champions.

Both Westfield W-League Semi-Finals will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 501 with SBS VICELAND broadcasting the Brisbane Roar FC v Melbourne City FC match live and the Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets match streamed via SBS – The World Game website ( and App.