Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory: match preview

Two of last season’s high-flyers open Round 2 of the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season as Brisbane Roar host Melbourne Victory on Thursday night.

Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe is the venue as Roar play their first game of the campaign after an opening round bye.

And it’s a new era for Roar as Jake Goodship takes charge of his first match at the helm, looking to help the club maintain their high standards after top-two finishes in the last two seasons.

They certainly have a strong enough squad with the likes of Hayley Raso, Katrina Gorry, Elise Kellond-Knight, Clare Polkinghorne and Tameka Yallop all in the squad.

Defending premiers Victory are looking to bounce back after a 3-0 defeat against champions Sydney FC on Sunday.

Jeff Hopkins’ troops won’t want to drop consecutive games at the start of the new season, meaning they’ll go all-out for the three points.

Click here to buy tickets

Thursday, November 21 2019
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: Dolphin Stadium 
Broadcast: FOX Sports
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: Every Westfield W-League game in Round 2
TOTW: Who made the best XI from the opening round?

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvMVC #WLeague

Team news

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Carson PICKETT, 3.Celeste BOUREILLE, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9.Rylee BAISDEN, 10.Katrina GORRY, 12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka YALLOP, 15.Claire FARRINGTON, 16.Hayley RASO, 18.Leah DAVIDSON, 19.Hollie PALMER, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk), 22.Anna MARGRAF, 23.Isobel DALTON **two to be omitted**

Unavailable: 6.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT (hamstring – TBC)

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Casey DUMONT (gk), 2.Rosie SUTTON, 3.Teigen ALLEN, 4.Emily MENGES, 6.Haley HANSON, 7.Emma ROBERS, 8.Angie BEARD, 9.Natasha DOWIE (c), 10.Jenna McCORMICK, 11.Darian JENKINS, 13.Polly DORAN, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Annalie LONGO, 18.Grace MAHER, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 20.Melissa MAIZELS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Rosie SUTTON (promoted), 19.Lia PRIVITELLI (returning from injury)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 5.Laura BROCK (foot)



Round 2: Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory

Pick the winner
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Thanks for your tip

Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season Draw Thin Banner