Canberra and Perth move top – Round 7 review

Canberra United and Perth Glory made the most of another shock defeat for Melbourne City in a remarkable weekend of action in the Westfield W-League.

Western Sydney Wanderers pulled off one of the great upsets as Kendall Fletcher scored twice in a 2-1 come-from-behind result which mirrored Melbourne City’s loss to Canberra United last week. Having gone undefeated for 18 matches, City have now lost two on the trot.

Canberra United were in imperious form to inflict a stunning 5-1 defeat upon Brisbane Roar – the worst-ever defeat for the two-time champions.

On Saturday, Sam Kerr scored twice as Perth Glory collected a dominant 4-1 win at Adelaide United to give them a lone hold of top spot for 24 hours, before being joined at the summit by Canberra.

A day earlier, Jen Hoy equalised late as Newcastle Jets secured a home draw against Melbourne Victory, with the latter denied a win late-on for the second week in a row.

Round 8 kicks-off the Westfield W-League Summer of Football with ten matches in eleven days. The three-match Round 8 commences on Friday with a match-up between rivals Sydney FC and Brisbane Roar, and concludes on Tuesday 27 December with the Fox Sports/ABC TV match between Melbourne City and Perth Glory.

Round 9 will be played 28-30 December, and Round 10 will be played 1-2 January.

Newcastle Jets 1 (Jen Hoy 84’)
Melbourne Victory 1 (Natasha Dowie 18’)

Friday 16 December 2016
Venue: McDonald Jones Stadium
Kick-Off: 5:20PM (Local)

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Newcastle Jets: Katelyn Rowland (gk), Sophie Nenadovic (Elizabeth Copus-Brown 72’), Megan Oyster, Arin Gilliland, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Emma Stanbury (Ashlee Brodigan 57’), Jen Hoy, Tara Pender, Jenna Kingsley (Grace McIntyre 46’), Clare Wheeler

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – Megan Oyster 26’

Melbourne Victory: Bethany Mason-Jones (gk), Alexandra Natoli, Alexandra Cheal (Alexandra Gummer 78’), Annabel Martin, Natasha Dowie, Christine Nairn (c), Laura Spiranovic (Melindaj Barbieri 58’), Samantha Johnson, Gulcan Koca (Ayesha Norrie 76’), Kirsty Yallop, Kariah White

Substitutes – Emily Kenshole (gk)

Cautions – none


Adelaide United 1 (Sofia Huerta 64’)
Perth Glory 4 (Sam Kerr 36’, 68’, Rosie Sutton 62’, Vanessa DiBernardo 83’ pen)

Saturday 17 December 2016
Venue: Elite Systems Football Centre
Kick-Off: 7:30PM (Local)

Referee: Katie Patterson

Adelaide United: Eliza Campbell (gk), Emily Hodgson (Georgia Iannella 66’), Stella Rigon (c), Marijana Rajcic (Dragana Kljajic 46’), Sofia Huerta, Adriana Jones, Grace Abbey, Georgia Campagnale, Isabella Scalzi (Ally Ladas 79’), Danielle Colaprico, Katie Naughton

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk)

Cautions – none

Perth Glory: Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Sarah Carroll, Kim Carroll, Alyssa Mautz, Nicole Stanton (Caitlin Doeglas 93’), Shawn Billam (Jaymee Gibbons 76’), Rosie Sutton, Vanessa DiBernardo, Natasha Rigby, Sam Kerr (c), Arianna Romero

Substitutes – Morgan Aquino (gk), Patricia Charalambous,

Cautions – none


Canberra United 5 (Nickoletta Flannery 14’, 53’, Steph Ochs 28’, Ashleigh Sykes 50’, 56’)
Brisbane Roar 1 (Emily Gielnik 92’)

Sunday 18 December 2016
Venue: Central Coast Stadium
Kick-Off: 2:30PM (Local)

Referee: Lara Lee

Canberra United: Trudy Burke (gk), Yukari Kinga, Clare Hunt, Jenna McCormick, Grace Maher, Michelle Heyman (c) (Jasmyne Spencer 80’), Hannah Brewer, Celeste Boureille, Ashleigh Sykes, Nickoletta Flannery (Karly Roestbakken 69’), Steph Ochs (Laura Hughes 75’)

Substitutes: Georgia Boric (gk)

Cautions: Steph Ochs 39’, Yukari Kinga 54’, Hannah Brewer 77’

Brisbane Roar: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Nina Frausing-Pedersen, Amy Chapman (Abbey Lloyd 71’), Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard, Kaitlyn Torpey (Brooke Spence 60’), Katrina Gorry (Allira Toby 60’), Tameka Butt, Summer O’Brien, Emily Gielnik, Madlyn Evans

Substitutes – Georgina Worth (gk)

Cautions – Summer O’Brien 37’, Amy Chapman 65’, Tameka Butt 89’


Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Kendall Fletcher 18’, 48’ pen)
Melbourne City 1 (Marianna Tabain 3’)Sunday 18 December 2016

Venue: Popondetta Park
Kick-Off: 3:00PM (Local)

Referee: Maddison Kennedy

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Caitlin Cooper (c), Helen Petinos, Kendall Fletcher, Sarah Yatim (Alix Roberts 74’), Erica Halloway, Katie Stengel, Paige Nielsen, Eliza Ammendolia (Chloe O’Brien 91’), Ellie Carpenter, Angelique Hristodoulou

Substitutes – Casey Dumont (gk), Nikola Orgill

Cautions – Helen Petinos 58’

Melbourne City: Lydia Williams (gk), Lauren Barnes, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Jess Fishlock, Erika Tymrak (Tyla Jay Vlajnic 82’), Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson (Teigen Allen 68’), Beverly Yanez, Marianna Tabain (Melina Ayres 68’)

Substitutes – Erin Hudson (gk)

Cautions – none


Sydney FC – BYE