Canberra United star Sykes wins Julie Dolan Medal

Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United took out the Julie Dolan Medal at the gala Dolan Warren Awards night which were held at the Carriageworks in Sydney tonight.

Diego Castro from Perth Glory was named the Johnny Warren Medal winner, with Dylan Smith from Adelaide United claiming the Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year Award.

Under a new voting system for the Johnny Warren Medal, Diego Castro received 34 points from a panel that included former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives. He was closely followed by Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City FC – 33 points), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City FC) and Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City FC) both on 27 points and Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United - 23 points).

Brisbane Roar FC’s Jamie Maclaren was named the Hyundai A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year and Melbourne City FC’s Larissa Crummer was the inaugural winner of the Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award. Both Crummer and Maclaren will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Melbourne City's Larissa Crummer is one of the nominees for the Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

After orchestrating a miraculous turnaround from last place in Round 8 to winning the Premiers Plate in Round 27, it was no surprise that Adelaide United Head Coach Guillermo Amor received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Craig Deans from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year as voted for by their peers.

Melbourne City FC’s talismanic Uruguayan striker, Bruno Fornaroli, was a clear winner of the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2015/16 season with a record breaking 23 goals whilst his club mate, Larissa Crummer took out the Westfield W-League 2015/16 Golden Boot Award courtesy of her 11 goals throughout the season. Joseph Katebian from Melbourne Victory was the top goal scorer for the Foxtel National Youth League 2015/16 season with 10 goals.

Melbourne City FC’s Scottish International Kim Little picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Melbourne City players celebrate Kim Little's decisive goal against Brisbane Roar.

Melbourne City FC’s former Danish International goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Kaitlyn Savage from Adelaide United received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Central Coast Mariner Roy O’Donovan scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his 83rd minute strike against Adelaide United in Round 25. Perth Glory’s US-import Vanessa Di Bernardo scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her 88th minute strike against Brisbane Roar FC in Round 5.

Brisbane Roar FC picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for a record 5th time after accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Melbourne City FC won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with the Newcastle Jets winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Melbourne City players celebrate their maiden Westfield W-League Championship at AAMI Park.

In the referee awards, it was a case of déjà vu with Jarred Gillett again named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award and Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collecting the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year extending her record to six titles.

The Western Sydney Wanderers FC collected the inaugural Community Champion Award in recognition for their corporate social responsibility programs and partnerships. The Wanderers work has impacted the lives of the local community by creating awareness and raising funds to address the issues of domestic violence, bullying and racism throughout the Western Sydney region.