City create history in front of record crowd

Melbourne City are Westfield W-League champions for the second successive season after defeating Perth Glory 2-0 in front of a record crowd at nib Stadium in Perth.

Goals in each half from player of the match Jess Fishlock and Beverly Yanez were enough to see off a brave effort from the home side.

Melbourne City became the first team to win the title for a second successive season, and just the second side to win the championship coming from fourth.

Despite the loss, the Grand Final marked a remarkable campaign for Perth Glory after they finished eighth last season.

A colourful and noisy 4591 crowd were on hand in Perth to eclipse the previous best Westfield W-League Grand Final mark of 4544 set during the 2008/09 season.

Westfield W-League 2017 Grand Final
Perth Glory 0
Melbourne City 2 (Jess Fishlock 45+1’, Beverly Yanez 72’)
Sunday 12 February 2017
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-Off: 4:30PM (Local)

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Attendance: 4591

Perth Glory: Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Sarah Carroll (Patricia Charalambous 75’), Kim Carroll, Alyssa Mautz, Nicole Sutton, Rosie Sutton, Vanessa DiBernardo, Jaymee Gibbons (Shawn Billam 54’), Natasha Rigby, Sam Kerr (c), Arianna Romero

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Caitlin Doeglas, Carla Bennett

Cautions – Vanessa DiBernardo 82’

Melbourne City: Lydia Williams (gk), Lauren Barnes, Teigen Allen, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Jess Fishlock, Erika Tymrak (Melina Ayres 94’), Rebekah Stott, Marianna Tabain (Amy Jackson 68’), Beverly Yanez (Tyla Jay Vlajnic 87’)

Substitutes – Emily Shields (gk), Olivia Ellis

Cautions – Marianna Tabain 66’