Dolan Warren Awards 2019 to be hosted at The Star

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has confirmed that this year’s Dolan Warren Awards will be held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney. They will take place on Monday 13 May and broadcast live and exclusive on Fox Sports.

The prestigious night is the joint awards ceremony for the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League and will be co-hosted by Fox Sports personalities Tara Rushton and Adam Peacock.

FFA Chief Executive Officer David Gallop is looking forward to attending Australian football’s night of nights.

“The Dolan Warren Awards celebrate excellence from both the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League seasons, as well as recognising those that have made significant contributions to football in Australia who will be inducted into the FFA Hall of Fame,” he said.

“I would like to thank The Star for hosting the Dolan Warren Awards for the third year in succession and we are all looking forward to another fantastic evening.” 

George Hughes, chief marketing officer of The Star Entertainment Group, is delighted that The Star Event Centre will be hosting the Dolan Warren Awards for the third consecutive year. He said “The Star is the home to the biggest events on the sporting and entertainment calendar, and we are proud to once again be celebrating the success of Australia’s premier male and female footballers. 

"We are passionate about sports and providing thrilling experiences to football fans, throughout the season, whether they visit our properties to cheer on their teams in the A-League, Premier League or World Cup.”

Two guests who are looking forward to attending the Dolan Warren Awards are Anthony and Helen Caceres (pictured above) who have the honour of being the first married couple to play in the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League.

Anthony Caceres, who began the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 season with Melbourne City FC but is currently on loan with Sydney FC, believes the Dolan Warren Awards is a great night where the best players from the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League come together.

“We are lucky that we have great players and people so it’s always a great night where people get together and have a good time, so a lot to look forward to,” he said.

“You get to know players from other teams and see ex-teammates who have moved on to other clubs in the competition.

“It’s a good chance to catch-up with everyone and discuss the season that’s just happened.”

WORLDS APART: Phelan sees similarities between Manchester United and Mariners
DUBLIN TO DOWN UNDER: How Viduka and Kewell set Keogh on path to Perth Glory
VIDEO: Ibra, Kaka, Ronaldinho: The footballing CV of Western United's star signing
WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE

Helen Caceres, who played for Melbourne City FC during the Westfield W-League 2018/19 season, echoed Anthony’s sentiments.

“It’s a great night to celebrate the achievements of women and men, all together in the one room.

“Not only are the men important but the women equally and it’s important to celebrate this on such a special night.”

In addition to presenting the prestigious Julie Dolan Medal (for the best player in the Westfield W-League) and Johnny Warren Medal (best player in the Hyundai A-League), other awards presented on the night include NAB Young Footballer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Golden Boot, Goal of the Year and Referee of the Year for both the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League, as well as announcing the latest inductees to the FFA Hall of Fame.