FFA moves W-League match back due to heat

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has today moved the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League double header matches in Adelaide back two and a half hours due to the forecast extreme weather conditions and logistical issues around the two matches.

The changes were made in line with the FFA’s Heat Policy, which uses the agreed global best practice method of measuring the Wet Bulb Globe Temperature (WBGT) to ensure safe conditions for professional football. A WBGT of 28 is the threshold at which the FFA Heat Policy suggests drinks breaks or considerations regarding a delay to kick-off should be implemented.

The WBGT forecast for Sunday is currently above 28 degrees at 1.30pm (ACDT) when the Westfield W-League match was due to kick off, dropping below the regulated threshold by 4pm (ACDT).

Taking into consideration the unique circumstances of two broadcast matches at the same ground on the same day, and in light of the current forecast, FFA has decided to delay the kick off for both matches in advance of matchday as per below:

·Westfield W-League: Adelaide United v Perth Glory will now kick off at 4pm (ACDT).

·Hyundai A-League: Adelaide United v Perth Glory will now kick off at 7pm (ACDT).

“In line with the Heat Policy, FFA has been proactively monitoring the Sunday weather forecast for Adelaide as early as Monday (30 November) and has been in constant contact with both clubs, broadcasters (Fox Sports and ABC TV), Coopers Stadium and the PFA,” said Head of the Hyundai A-League Damien de Bohun.

“With the forecast WBGT due to be above the regulated threshold for the duration of the scheduled Westfield W-League match we have decided to move both games back two and a half hours to allow both matches to be played under safe conditions that fall within the parameters of the Heat Policy.

“FFA will continue to monitor the situation, keep relevant stakeholders updated and will consider the need for drinks breaks or further deferment of the matches on Sunday.”

Importantly, the WBGT thresholds in the FFA Heat Policy are stricter (i.e. lower) than FIFA standards and those used by other sports played in summer including the Australian Open Tennis, giving our players better protection from heat. 

Both matches will be broadcast live as per below:

·Westfield W-League: Adelaide United v Perth Glory 4.30pm (AEDT) on FOX Sports and ABC TV. (NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS 4.30pm, SA 4.00pm, QLD 3.30pm, NT 3.00pm, WA 1.30pm)

·Hyundai A-League: Adelaide United v Perth Glory 7.30pm (AEDT) on FOX Sports.