Glory advance after draws for frontrunners

Perth Glory were the big movers in Round 11 thanks to a tense comeback win over Melbourne Victory which saw them heap the pressure on leaders Sydney FC.

The Sky Blues’ advantage at the top was trimmed to two points after they were held 1-1 at home by champions Melbourne City as last season’s two Grand Finalists met.

Canberra United slipped up once again after they were held 2-2 by visiting Adelaide United, where there were doubles for both the home side’s Ash Sykes and also Adelaide’s Sofia Huerta.

The stars of the round however were Brisbane Roar pair Tameka Butt, who netted a treble, and captain Clare Polkinghorne who became the first player to reach 100 Westfield W-League appearances.

Brisbane's 3-0 win over Western Sydney Wanderers saw them move within a point of fourth-placed Melbourne City, though having played a match extra.

Round 12 will provide some fascinating match-ups including Canberra United hosting Perth Glory on Saturday, and the Melbourne derby on Sunday.

The Fox Sports/ABC TV match on Sunday is a crucial encounter between Newcastle Jets and Brisbane Roar.

Brisbane Roar 3 (Tameka Butt 3’, 6’, 75’)
Western Sydney Wanderers 0

Saturday 7 January 2017
Venue: Suncorp Stadium
Kick-Off: 1:35PM

Referee: Kelly Jones

Brisbane Roar: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Nina Frausing-Pedersen, Amy Chapman (Cortnee Vine 64’),  Clare Polkinghorne (c) (Brooke Spence 92’), Angela Beard, Kaitlyn Torpey, Katrina Gorry, Tameka Butt, Summer O’Brien (Sunn Franco 76’), Emily Gielnik, Madlyn Evans

Substitutes – Georgina Worth (gk)

Cautions – none

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Caitlin Cooper (c), Helen Petinos, Kendall Fletcher, Sarah Yatim (Alix Roberts 46’), Erica Halloway, Katie Stengel, Paige Nielsen, Rachel Lowe, Ellie Carpenter, Angelique Hristodoulou

Substitutes – Casey Dumont (gk), Chloe O’Brien

Cautions – Angelique Hristodoulou 72’

Canberra United 2 (Ashleigh Sykes 20’, 79’)
Adelaide United 2 (Sofia Huerta 65’ pen, 81’)

Saturday, 7 January 2017
Venue: McKellar Park
Kick-Off: 6:00PM

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Canberra United: Trudy Burke (gk), Yukari Kinga, Jenna McCormick, Hayley Raso, Jasmyne Spencer (Nickoletta Flannery 79’), Grace Maher (Lisa De Vanna 54’), Hannah Brewer, Celeste Boureille, Ashleigh Sykes, Emma Checker, Steph Ochs (Kahlia Hogg 87’)

Substitutes: Georgia Boric (gk)

Cautions: Celeste Boureille 94’

Adelaide United: Sarah Willacy (gk), Isabella Scalzi (Emily Hodgson 24’), Stella Rigon (c) (Ally Ladas 46’), Racheal Quigley, Sofia Huerta, Adriana Jones (Lucy Adamopoulos 72’), Grace Abbey, Georgia Campagnale, Danielle Colaprico, Katie Naughton, Alexandra Chidiac

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – Katie Naughton 2’, Lucy Adamopoulos 73’, Grace Abbey 93’


Sydney FC 1 (Caitlin Foord 67’)
Melbourne City 1 (Jess Fishlock 75’)

Sunday 8 January 2017
Venue: Allianz Stadium
Kick-Off: 2:30PM (Local)

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Sydney FC: Sham Khamis (gk), Teresa Polias, Remy Siemsen, Liz Ralston, Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger (Olivia Price 80’), Caitlin Foord, Francisca Ordega (Princess Ibini 75’), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Sarah Easthope (gk), Natalie Tobin

Cautions – Teresa Polias 36’, Kyah Simon 43’, Francisca Ordega 60’

Melbourne City: Lydia Williams (gk), Lauren Barnes, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Larissa Crummer (Marianna Tabain 80’), Jess Fishlock, Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson, Beverly Yanez (Melina Ayres 90’), Tyla Jay Vlajnic (Erika Tymrak 46’)

Substitutes – Emily Shields (gk)

Cautions – Beverly Yanez 17’


Perth Glory 3 (Sam Kerr 50’, Vanessa DiBernardo 80’ pen, Rosie Sutton 85’)
Melbourne Victory 2 (Arianna Romero O.G. 52’, Alyssa Mautz O.G. 60’)

Sunday 8 January 2017
Venue: Dorrien Gardens
Kick-Off: 4:00PM

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Perth Glory: Melissa Maizels (gk), Sarah Carroll, Kim Carroll, Alyssa Mautz, Nicole Stanton, Shawn Billam (Jaymee Gibbons 67’), Rosie Sutton, Vanessa DiBernardo, Natasha Rigby, Sam Kerr (c), Arianna Romero

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Patricia Charalambous, Caitlin Doeglas

Cautions – Natasha Rigby 63’, Alyssa Mautz 73’

Melbourne Victory: Bianca Henninger (gk), Alexandra Natoli, Alexandra Gummer, Annabel Martin, Natasha Dowie, Christine Nairn (c), Laura Spiranovic, Adriana Taranto (Ayesha Norrie 86’), Samantha Johnson, Gulcan Koca (Melindaj Barbieri 90’), Kariah White (Lia Privitelli 77’)

Substitutes – Bethany Mason-Jones (gk)

Cautions – None


Newcastle Jets – BYE