History made as Julie Dolan Medal shared

For the first time, there have been joint winners of the Julie Dolan Medal.

The award for the best player in the Westfield W-League has been shared by Brisbane Roar defender Clare Polkinghorne and Perth Glory striker Sam Kerr.

The Westfield Matildas team-mates couldn't be separated, both receiving 17 points across the season from a panel that included technical experts and match officials.

Kerr was the competition's top scorer, netting 13 times to also claim the golden boot.

Polkinghorne was a rock in Roar's rearguard as they finished top in the regular season, losing just two of their 12 games and conceding only a dozen goals.

It was the second time each player had received the Julie Dolan Medal, with Kerr claiming the award last season and Polkinghorne the recipient at the end of the 2012/13 season.


There was a three-way tie for third place between Emily van Egmond (Newcastle Jets), Jess Fishlock (Melbourne City) and Lisa De Vanna (Sydney FC) who all tallied 15 points.



Julie Dolan Medal: Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar) and Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)

Coach of the Year: Melissa Andreatta (Brisbane Roar FC)

Golden Boot: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory - 13 goals)

Goal of the Year: Lisa De Vanna (Sydney FC, Round 8 v Canberra United)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Mackenzie Arnold (Brisbane Roar FC)

Young Footballer of the Year: Ellie Carpenter (Canberra United)

Referee of the Year: Casey Reibelt