Holiday treat for TV viewers: Melbourne City v Perth Glory

What a contest looms for TV viewers nationwide as all-star Melbourne City host in-form Perth Glory on Tuesday with the match broadcast on Fox Sports/ABC TV.

Top spot is potentially up for grabs in the concluding Round 8 match, with Perth two points behind Sydney FC – who won on Friday – and Melbourne three points off the pace.

Much interest at AAMI Park will be focussed on City with the champions looking to halt a two-game losing streak, having won 17 of their 18 previous outings.

City’s goalkeeper and Westfield Matildas No1 Lydia Williams says the side have identified the problem area. “Obviously we’re disappointed to drop points, especially in games we have dominated possession wise,” Williams said.

"Everyone can see we play beautiful football, probably some of the best in the league. We just need to be a bit more ruthless in front of goal. I think sometimes we’re trying to keep possession a bit too much instead of taking chances.

"It's kind of nice to have the pressure off of getting that first loss but no one wants to drop points.”

The Glory are set to welcome back former Melbourne Victory goalkeeper Melissa Maizels from injury.

Bobby Despotovski’s Glory, meanwhile, present a massive challenge having built momentum over the course of the season, and they now boast three straight wins.

The two clubs have played just twice – both last season – with City claiming two one-sided 4-0 victories.

The match will be followed by the Hyundai A-League encounter between the same two clubs.

Melbourne City FC v Perth Glory
Tuesday 27 December 2016
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-Off: 5:05PM (Local) (5:05PM (AEDT))

Referee: Casey Reibelt
Assistant Referee 1: Joanna Charaktis
Assistant Referee 2: Sarah Wikeley
Fourth Official: Danielle Anderson

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5.00pm (AEDT) and ABC TV from 5.00pm (AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #BeReal

To purchase tickets visit

Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS (GK), 2.Teigen ALLEN, 3.Lauren BARNES, 5.Laura ALLEWAY, 6.Aivi LUIK, 7.Steph CATLEY (c), 10.Jessica FISHLOCK, 11.Erika TYMRAK, 13.Rebekah STOTT, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Beverly YANEZ, 17.Marianna TABAIN, 18.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI, 19.Tyla-Jay VLAJNIC, 26.Erin HUDSON (GK) **one to be omitted**

Ins: 18. Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI (promoted)

Outs: nil

Unavailable: 9. Larissa CRUMMER (ankle – two weeks)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Alyssa MAUTZ, 5.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 7.Nicole STANTON, 8.Shawn BILLAM, 9.Rosie SUTTON, 10.Vanessa DIBERNARDO, 13.JAYMEE GIBBONS, 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 17.Natasha RIGBY, 18.Gabby DAL BUSCO (gk), 20.Samantha KERR (c), 22.Arianna ROMERO

Ins: 1.Melissa MAIZELS (gk) (return from injury)

Outs: 24.Morgan AQUINO (not selected)

Unavailable: Nil