Match preview: Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory

First hosts second in the first of three Westfield W-League Round 9 fixtures that will be broadcast on both FOX SPORTS and SBS VICELAND. 

But why not try to head out to the game and make a night of it? The top two do battle in what promises to be a thriller of an encounter against Perth Glory.

Only goal difference separates Melbourne Victory and Perth Glory at AAMI Park in the Westfield W-League, with both sides experiencing contrasting fortunes. 

GUIDE: How to watch Westfield W-League Round 9
INJURY NEWS: Canberra defender to miss rest of season
COMEBACK: Canberra legend to return as injury replacment

In the space of a fortnight, Melbourne Victory have gone from unbeaten to two losses on the trot, after 4-3 and 3-2 losses to Brisbane Roar and Adelaide United respectively.

Meanwhile, Perth remains the only unbeaten team in the Westfield W-League and have won two of their last four games. 

Those victories were against last year’s Grand Finalists in a 5-2 win over Melbourne City, and 2-1 come-from-behind victory over Sydney FC in Round 8. 

Sam Kerr leads the Golden Boot race with eight goals in six games, five of those coming in her last three games. 

This clash at AAMI Park is important for both sides, as neither will want to concede ground in the title race so close to the end of the 2018/19 Season, and potentially surrender a home semi-final spot.


Ins and outs

Melbourne Victory squad: 1. Casey DUMONT (GK), 3. Teigan ALLEN, 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Annabel MARTIN, 7. Christine NAIRN, 8. Angela BEARD, 9. Natasha DOWIE (c), 10. Kyra COONEY-CROSS, 11. MelindaJ BARBIERI, 14. Melina AYRES, 15. Emily GIELNIK, 16.Samantha JOHNSON, 17. Danielle WEATHERHOLT, 18. Grace MAHER, 19. Lia PRIVITELLI, 20. Bethany MASON-JONES (GK), 21. Ella MASTRANTONIO

**two to be omitted** 

Ins: 10. Kyra COONEY-CROSS (promoted), 18. Grace MAHER (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Perth Glory squad: 1.Eliza CAMPBELL (gk), 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Alyssa MAUTZ , 5.Shannon MAY, 7.Nicole STANTON , 9.Rachel HILL, 10.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI, 11.Leticia McKENNA , 12.Jenna ONIONS, 13.Jamie-Lee GALE , 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 15.Alexia MORENO, 20.Sam KERR (c), 21. Morgan AQUINO (gk) 22.Abbey GREEN, 24.Natasha RIGBY, 25.Katie NAUGHTON

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS (promoted), 15.Alexia MORENO (promoted), 21. Morgan AQUINO (gk) (returns from injury)

Outs: 23.Stacey CAVILL (gk) (not selected)

Unavailable: 18.Isabella FOLETTA (general soreness – 1 week)


How to watch

Tune in to FOX SPORTS 505 to catch this clash, with kick-off at 5:20pm AEDT. Alternatively, you can watch the match live and free-to-air on SBS VICELAND. You can also stream the match live on the MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers. For viewers outside Australia and New Zealand without a broadcasting rights holder, you can watch games on the My Football Youtube channel.


You can purchase your tickets to this double-header at AAMI Park by CLICKING HERE.


Round 9: Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory

Tip the result
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Thanks for your tip!