Melbourne City crowned W-League Premiers - Round 11 review

Melbourne City have been crowned Westfield W-League 2015/16 Premiers in their first season after earning a tough 1-0 win over Brisbane Roar on the Gold Coast on Monday.

The league’s newest club also secured a record tenth win in succession beating the previous mark of nine set by Sydney FC in 2009-10.

An early goal from Melbourne City’s Scotland star Kim Little was enough to see off Brisbane Roar in an action-packed match.

It is the first time a club has secured top spot with two matches still to play. Brisbane Roar (2008/09) and Perth Glory (2014/15) previously did so in the penultimate round.

Melbourne City, who were already assured of a top-two berth and a home semi-final, will now hunt the major prize with the champions to be decided when the Grand Final is played on Sunday 31 January.

Meanwhile, the Fox Sports/ABC TV match on Sunday proved to be entertaining fare as Sydney FC strengthened their grip on third by holding on for a 2-1 at AAMI Park against a fast-finishing Melbourne Victory.

Tara Andrews netted the crucial goal as Newcastle Jets secured a crucial 1-0 win to move a step closer to ending their seven-year finals drought, with the ambitions of opponents Western Sydney Wanderers suffering a huge blow in the process.

Second-placed Canberra United, Adelaide United and Perth Glory all enjoyed the weekend off.

Next Sunday sees the Jets aiming to move a step closer to that semi-final ticket when they host the ever-improving Melbourne Victory at Hunter Stadium on Fox Sports and ABC TV.

Western Sydney Wanderers 0
Newcastle Jets 1 (Tara Andrews 41’)

Saturday 27 December 2015
Popondetta Park, Sydney
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Lara Lee

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Caitlin Cooper (Helen Petinos 46’), Carmelina Moscato, Chloe O’Brien (Eliza Ammendolia 75’), Rachael Soutar, Erica Halloway, Liz Grey, Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard (Alix Roberts 85’), Ellie Carpenter

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Erica Halloway 42’, Rachael Soutar 75’

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis (Sophie Nenadovic 90’), Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews, Rhali Dobson (Adriana Jones 58’), Chloe Logarzo, Jenna Kingsley (Clare Wheeler 71’), Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – none

Melbourne Victory 1 (MelindaJ Barbieri 47’)
Sydney FC 2 (Leena Khamis 10’, Jasmyne Spencer 22’)

Sunday 27 December 2015
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandra Natoli (Briar Palmer 87’), Melissa Taranto (Whitney Knight 71’), Annabel Martin, Enza Barilla (Adriana Taranto 71’), Christine Nairn, MelindaJ Barbieri, Thea Slatyer, Hayley Raso, Gulcan Koca, Natasha Dowie

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – Melissa Taranto 34’, Christine Nairn 65’, Natasha Dowie 85’

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Jasmyne Spencer, Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger (Olivia Price 71’), Amy Harrison (Hannah Bacon 88’), Princess Ibini (Sunny Franco 87’), Natalie Tobin, Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen, Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – Teigen Allen 51’

Brisbane Roar 0
Melbourne City 1 (Kim Little 6’)

Monday 28 December 2015
Broadbeach United Soccer Club, Gold Coast
Kick-off: 2.30pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Brisbane Roar: Haley Kopmeyer (gk), Amy Chapman, Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard, Gabrielle Marzano (Cortnee Vine 64’), Katrina Gorry, Kirsty Yallop (Ayesha Norrie 79’), Tameka Butt, Summer O’Brien (Alisha Foote 84’), Ruth Blackburn, Emily Gielnik

Substitutes – Carrie Simpson (gk)

Cautions – Kirsty Yallop 73’

Melbourne City: Brianna Davey (gk), Jennifer Beattie, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Kim Little, Larissa Crummer (Laura Alleway 94’), Jess Fishlock, Lisa De Vanna (Alexandra Chidiac 79’), Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson, Marianna Tabain (Beattie Goad 60’)

Substitutes – Trudy Burke (gk)

Cautions – Steph Catley 58’

Adelaide United, Canberra United, Perth Glory – BYE