Perth Glory and Melbourne City chasing history

Sunday’s Westfield W-League Grand Final brings together two sides in Perth Glory and Melbourne City both seeking to claim a slice of history.

The Glory are aiming for their first Championship after falling at the same stage two years ago on home soil when they lost 3-1 against Canberra United in the Grand Final, despite finishing as Premiers.

Should Perth win it would be the first national football championship for WA since Perth Glory men’s team won the former National Soccer League in 2004.

Melbourne City, for their part, are seeking to become the first club in the nine-season history of the Westfield W-League to win successive championships.

Perth Glory have named a full strength squad for the match, while Melbourne City will only be without the services of long-term injury absentee Larissa Crummer.

With a galaxy of stars across the two sides – both Westfield Matildas and international imports – the match is sure to be high-quality and action-packed.

Indeed, the two teams turned on what was arguably the match of the season on the only occasion they met this campaign.

The lead changed three times before Perth Glory secured a 3-2 win at AAMI Park two days after Christmas, as superstar duo Sam Kerr (Perth Glory) and Jess Fishlock (Melbourne City) both contributed candidates for goal of the season.

That result was part of a stunning six-match winless run for City, but after three tough wins on the trot the champions now appear back on track.

"It's a one off game, we know what's at stake” said City assistant coach Patrick Kisnorbo about Sunday’s match. “At the end of the day we're going to go over there with confidence.”

Perth Glory had their own mid-season bumps crashing to a 7-2 loss against Canberra United, but last weekend’s remarkable 5-1 semi-final win over Sydney FC proved their quality.

“It was good to get some goals in the net and some extra confidence,” said Glory defender Kim Carroll.

“We won last time (against City) but that was a while ago now, so we definitely won’t be relying on what they or us were like last time. They will be hungry to get their back-to-back title.”

The match will also be a final chance for players to showcase their wares in front of national team coach Alen Stajcic, with the Westfield Matildas to compete in the prestigious Algarve Cup next month.

Westfield W-League Grand Final
Perth Glory v Melbourne City
Sunday 12 February 2017
nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-off 4:30pm Local, 7:30pm AEDT

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT), Live coverage on ABC2 from 7:30pm (AEDT) in NSW, ACT, VIC & TAS, delayed coverage on ABC2 in QLD, SA, NT & WA - 7:30pm (local)                                          

Radio Broadcast: ABC Radio Perth, ABC Radio WA, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tags #WLeague #WLeagueFinals #BeRemarkable

To purchase tickets visit

Perth Glory squad: 1.Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Alyssa MAUTZ, 5.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 6.Carla BENNETT, 7.Nicole STANTON, 8.Shawn BILLAM, 9.Rosie SUTTON, 10.Vanessa DIBERNARDO, 13.Jaymee GIBBONS, 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 17.Natasha RIGBY, 18.Gabrielle DAL BUSCO (gk), 20.Samantha KERR (c), 22.Arianna ROMERO

Ins: Nil

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Melbourne City squad: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2.Teigen ALLEN, 3.Lauren BARNES, 5.Laura ALLEWAY, 6.Aivi LUIK, 7.Steph CATLEY (c), 10.Jessica FISHLOCK, 11.Erika TYMRAK, 12.Olivia ELLIS, 13.Rebekah STOTT, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Beverly YANEZ, 17.Marianna TABAIN, 18.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI, 19.Tyla-Jay VLAJNIC, 20.Emily SHIELDS (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 12.Olivia ELLIS, 18.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 9.Larissa CRUMMER (foot - season)