Preview: Adelaide United v Western Sydney Wanderers

While finals’ aspirations might be over for this pair, Sunday’s ABC TV match will offer plenty for the neutral as two highly determined teams take to the field in the City of Churches.

Adelaide United v Western Sydney Wanderers

Sunday 23 November 2014

Adelaide Shores Football Centre, Adelaide

Local kick-off: 2.30pm (3pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #ADLvWSW

* Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally on ABC TV. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Adelaide United and Western Sydney Wanderers may have seen their semi-final hopes end last weekend but they will take much from this season having knocked off some of the competitions best over the best two months.

However the wooden spoon is still to be decided with the pair, along with Brisbane Roar, vying in a three-way contest to avoid the unwanted title.

While these two may not have the star power of some of the other teams, few can surpass either side for determination and sheer will to win.

Adelaide, who sit two points clear of the visitors, are again set to field their key personnel for the penultimate match of the season.

It will also be a final chance for local fans this season to see imported stars Katrine Pederson and Lisa-Marie Woods in action.

Should Adelaide win this one it would potentially leave the Wanderers facing Brisbane Roar in an unlikely battle to avoid bottom spot in the final round.

The Wanderers head to Adelaide with just one change to their squad, and it is an important one, with American midfielder Kendall Johnson returning to action following illness.

It will be the final home outing of the season for Ross Aloisi’s proud side, and an open contest seems in store for ABC TV viewers and local fans alike.

Adelaide United squad: 1. Melissa Barbieri (gk), 2. Monique Iannella, 3. Danielle Brogan, 4. Lauren Steer, 6. Dylan Holmes, 7. Katrine Pedersen, 8. Emily Condon, 9. Lisa-Marie Woods, 10. Alexandra Chidiac, 11. Isabel Hodgson, 12.Daila-Tais Borg, 14. Rachel Alonso, 16. Katie Holtham, 20. Sarah Willacy (gk), 23. Kristy Moore (C)

Ins: Lauren Steer, Rachel Alonso (both promoted)

Outs: Jenna McCormick, Tiarn Powell (both omitted)

Unavailable: none

Western Sydney Wanderers squad: 1. Trudy Burke (gk), 2. Caitlin Cooper, 3. Jessica Seaman, 4. Caitlin Jarvie, 5. Helen Petinos, 6. Rachael Soutar, 7. Kendall Johnson. 8. Grace Henry, 9. Keelin Winters, 10. Michelle Carney, 12. Hannah Beard, 14. Demi Koulizakis, 16. Linda O’Neill, 17. Laura Donnelly, 20. Sham Khamis (gk)

Ins: Kendall Johnson (returns from illness)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Victoria Guzman (injured – season)

To stay up to date with the latest news and highlights, sign up to the Westfield W-League Extra here