Preview: Brisbane Roar v Melbourne City

A slice of history is in the offing on the Gold Coast on Monday as Melbourne City seek to win the premiership with a tenth win on the trot.

The Westfield W-League premiership trophy for the ladder table-toppers will be on standby as the competition’s newest club seek to set a new benchmark for successive wins, having already equalled Sydney FC’s tally set in 2010.

And there will be symbolism of sorts should they achieve the milestones at the expense of Brisbane Roar who are statistically the league’s most successful club.

The two sides met just last month where City were one-sided 4-0 victors, although the Roar were reduced to ten players in the first half.

Last weekend the Roar ended a five-match winless streak with an impressive 3-0 win over in-form Sydney FC.

There were glimpses of the Roar of old in Gosford, and coach Belinda Wilson believes that kind of confidence-building form will trouble even the all-star City side.

"We've been saying all season it is about belief and being fearless,” she said. "If we keep playing like that, we can beat any team in the league – Melbourne City included.”

City are set to be at full strength with Westfield Matildas defender Laura Alleway available to face her former club after missing the 4-0 rout of Perth Glory.

Another City star facing her old side is Larissa Crummer with the newly prolific striker on 11 goals for the season – more than the Roar’s combined tally.

Brisbane Roar v Melbourne City
Monday 28 December 2015
Broadbeach United Soccer Club, Gold Coast
Local kick-off: 2.30pm (3.30pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #BRIvMCY

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Haley Kopmeyer (gk), 3. Amy Chapman, 4. Clare Polkinghorne, 6. Angela Beard, 7. Gabe Marzano, 8. Ayesha Norrie, 9. Cortnee Vine, 10. Katrina Gorry, 11. Kirsty Yallop, 12. Alisha Foote, 13. Tameka Butt, 14. Summer O'Brien, 15. Ruth Blackburn, 16. Ashley Spina, 17. Emily Gielnik, 20. Carrie Simpson (gk)

Ins:  Kirsty Yallop (returns from suspension), Ashley Spina (promoted)

Outs:  Maili Forbes (omitted)

Unavailable: Brooke Goodrich (injured)

Melbourne City squad: 1. Brianna Davey (gk), 3. Alex Chidiac, 4. Jennifer Beattie, 5. Laura Alleway, 6. Aivi Luik, 7. Stephanie Catley, 8. Kim Little, 9. Larissa Crummer, 10. Jessica Fishlock, 11. Lisa De Vanna, 13. Rebekah Stott, 15. Amy Jackson, 16. Beattie Goad, 17. Marianna Tabain, 20. Trudy Burke (gk)

Ins: Laura Alleway (promoted)

Outs: Anisa Guajardo (omitted)

Unavailable: Monique Iannella (knee – indefinite)