Preview: Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers

Hyundai A-League fans will have ready access to some of Australia’s finest female football as the Westfield W-League contest between Brisbane Roar and Western Sydney Wanderers opens an impressive double bill.

Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers 
(Hyundai A-League double-header)

Sunday 12 October 2014

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Local kick-off: 1pm (2pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #BRIvWSW

Brisbane Roar host Adelaide United in the Hyundai A-League later in the afternoon at Suncorp Stadium.

But it is Belinda Wilson’s all-star Roar side who take the park first, with the two-time champions seeking to rediscover winning form following a surprisingly stuttering opening to their campaign.

They will rarely have a better opportunity with the visiting Western Sydney Wanderers suffering a near-record 10-1 home defeat last weekend against Perth Glory.

The Roar have won just one of their opening four matches, but their roster is far too talented for that run to continue.

Surprising as it may seem the Wanderers can find some positives ahead of their trip north. They held Perth Glory scoreless for the first 45 minutes before a second-half capitulation.

Two key absentees also return this weekend in the form of Linda O’Neill and midfield general Keelin Winters, with the latter’s influence sure to be a key factor for the visitors.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER, 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Hayley RASO, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 15. Brooke GOODRICH, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 18. Sunny FRANCO, 20. Kate STEWART (gk)

Ins: Amy Chapman (returns from injury), Natasha Wheeler, Brooke Goodrich (both promoted)

Outs: Ayesha Norrie (omitted), Vedrana Popovic (ankle – 1 week)

Unavailable: none

Western Sydney Wanderers squad: 1. Trudy Burke (gk), 2. Caitlin Cooper, 3. Jessica Seaman, 5. Helen Petinos, 6. Rachael Soutar, 7. Kendall Johnson. 8. Grace Henry, 9. Keelin Winters, 10. Michelle Carney, 11. Lorena Bugden, 12. Hannah Beard, 14. Demi Koulizakis, 16. Linda O’Neill, 18. Tia Gavin, 20. Sham Khamis (gk)

Ins: Keelin Winters (returns from abroad), Linda O’Neill (returns from suspension)

Outs: Rhianna Pollicina, Victoria Guzman (both omitted)

Unavailable: Caitlin Jarvie (injury – 1 week)