Preview: Canberra United v Brisbane Roar

One of the great match-ups of the Westfield W-League is in the offing as in-form Canberra United tackle the always-strong Brisbane Roar.

The pair share a storied history, having met in two Westfield W-League Grand Finals – including the first-ever back in 2008/09 - with a win apiece.

Canberra, of course, are fresh from their epic win over the hitherto unbeatable Melbourne City. Last weekend United inflicted the first-ever defeat upon champions City in their season-and-a-half long Westfield W-League lifespan.

These two sides currently share third spot on ten points, just two points from the summit, and in theory the chance to move top is on offer.

United are stacked with experience across the park this year. But the fact that two raw teenagers combined for that historic winning goal against City – Nickoletta Flannery and scorer Karly Roestbakken – gives added reason for confidence within the squad.

Brisbane, of course, always field a strong side, but their cohesion is starting to look the best it has done for some time. Midfield ace Katrina Gorry looked on song last weekend in their 3-2 win over Adelaide United. It was a match that was tight in the end, but Brisbane could have won by a large margin had they converted all their chances.

This meeting will be a special one for Brisbane Roar’s Amy Chapman and Canberra United’s Hayley Raso who will be facing their former clubs. The match at Central Coast Stadium will also be a homecoming of sorts for Michelle Heyman, who first came to prominence with Central Coast Mariners some years ago now.

The match will be followed by the Hyundai A-League encounter between Central Coast Mariners and Brisbane Roar.

Canberra United v Brisbane Roar  
Sunday 18 December 2016
Venue: Central Coast Stadium
Kick-Off: 2:30PM (Local)

Referee: Lara Lee

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 2.00pm (AEDT) and ABC TV from 2.00pm (AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #BeReal

Canberra United squad: 1.Trudy BURKE (gk), 2.Yukari KINGA, 4.Clare HUNT, 5.Jenna McCORMICK, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Hayley RASO, 9.Jasmyne SPENCER 10.Grace MAHER, 11.Michelle HEYMAN, 12.Hannah BREWER, 13.Celeste BOUREILLE, 14.Ashley SYKES, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17.Laura HUGHES, 19.Nickoletta FLANNERY, 20.Georgia BORIC (gk), 22.Stephanie OCHS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 9.Jasmyne SPENCER (promoted), 17.Laura HUGHES (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 15.Emma CHECKER (knee – 1 week)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Nina FRAUSING-PEDERSEN, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Brooke SPENCE, 6.Angela BEARD, 7.Sunny FRANCO, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Maili FORBES, 12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka BUTT, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Emily GIELNIK, 18.Maddy EVANS, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Sunny FRANCO (promoted), 15.Abbey LLOYD (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 9.Cortnee VINE (fractured fibula – 2 weeks)