Preview: Canberra United v Melbourne Victory

Leaving aside the outrageous form of leaders Melbourne City, Canberra can lay claim to being the Westfield W-League’s form team.

The champions are now showing the kind of consistency that has become their trademark down the years, and they now have four straight wins and 11 goals to show for the past month’s exertions.

A win here will effectively shore up their finals berth, and take them a step closer to yet another home semi-final.

Canberra again have a full squad available, and their star players are really starting to make an impression at the right end of the season.

Melbourne Victory may be propping up the table but Canberra under-estimate their opponents at their own peril.

The Victory have collected a win and a draw from their past three outings, with their only defeat coming against imperious local rivals Melbourne City.

The Victory’s revival has coincided with the arrival of England forward Natashie Dowie, whose father Iain was a notable striker in the English Premier League during the 1990s.

The Melburnians have a more than capable forward line, and extra interest will surround one of those players – former Canberra flyer Hayley Raso.

The match kick-off time was re-set to 5pm (previously 4pm) on Friday considering the weather conditions expected in the nation’s capital on Saturday.

Canberra United v Melbourne Victory
Saturday 19 December 2015
McKellar Park, Canberra
Local kick-off: 5pm (Amended kick-off time)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #CBRvMVC

Canberra United squad: 1. Lydia Williams (gk), 2. Catherine Brown, 3. Julia De Angelis, 4. Kendall Fletcher, 5. Jenna McCormick, 6. Caitlin Munoz, 7. Ellie Brush, 8. Meg McLaughlin, 11. Michelle Heyman, 12. Emma Kete, 13. Nicole Begg (c), 14. Ashleigh Sykes, 15. Emma Checker, 17. Veronica Perez, 18. Rebecca Kiting, 20. Melissa Maizels (gk)

Ins: Catherine Brown (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: none

Melbourne Victory squad: 20. Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), 2. Alexandra Natoli, 4. Melissa Taranto, 6. Annabel Martin, 7. Enza Barilla, 8. Jamie Pollock, 10. Christine Nairn, 11. MelindaJ Barbieri, 12. Whitney Knight, 13. Thea Slatyer, 15. Adriana Taranto, 16. Hayley Raso, 17. Gulcan Koca, 1. Cassandra Dimovski (gk), 27. Natasha Dowie

Ins: Adriana Taranto (promoted)

Outs: Briar Palmer (omitted)

Unavailable: Selin Kuralay (knee – season), Laura Spiranovic (knee – season), Cindy Lay (eye – 2 weeks)