Preview: Melbourne City v Sydney FC

Two heavyweights of the Westfield W-League shape up with Sydney FC desperate for a dose of revenge, as well as some momentum heading into the final series.

Melbourne City and Sydney FC have already locked down first and third respectively, but both have strong rationale for pushing hard for victory at C.B. Smith Reserve in Fawkner. Regardless of the ladder standings, this is sure to be a fiercely competitive fixture.

After all City are seeking to extend their record winning run to 12 matches and, at the same time, become the first team to go through the season without dropping a point.

And their remarkable run started with a stunning 6-0 win against Sydney FC way back in round one. It remains a record scoreline for both clubs.

City striker Larissa Crummer scored a double that day and the former Sky Blue has never looked back. She now has a total of 11 for the season and is in touching distance of her first golden boot award. Only teammate Kim Little (8 goals) has an outside chance of overhauling the Westfield Matilda.

Sydney FC will be relying on some familiar names for goals with Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis and Jasmyne Spencer netting 12 of the team’s 14 goals this term. Meanwhile, at the other end of the field they hope to be boosted by the return of a valuable and experienced old-hand at the back – club captain Renee Rollason.

Melbourne City have omitted Lisa De Vanna from their announced squad, with the Westfield Matildas skipper also rested from their last outing a fortnight ago.

Next weekend will see City tackle the fourth-placed team in their first-ever finals match on 25 January at AAMI Park. The day prior will see Sydney FC travel to the nation’s capital for a hugely challenging task against Canberra United.

For now though there is a mouth-watering match-up in suburban Melbourne for supporters to look towards.

Melbourne City v Sydney FC
Saturday 16 January 2016
C.B. Smith Reserve, Fawkner, Melbourne
Local kick-off: 2pm

* Listen LIVE on TuneIn -

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #MCYvSFC

Melbourne City squad: 1. Brianna Davey (gk), 3. Alex Chidiac, 4. Jennifer Beattie, 6. Aivi Luik, 7. Stephanie Catley, 8. Kim Little, 9. Larissa Crummer, 10. Jessica Fishlock, 13. Rebekah Stott, 15. Amy Jackson, 16. Beattie Goad, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Anisa Guajardo, 20. Trudy Burke (gk)

Ins: none

Outs: none

Unavailable: Monique Iannella (knee – indefinite)

Sydney FC squad: 1. Michelle Betos (gk), 2. Elizabeth Ralston, 3. Ellyse Perry, 4. Sunny Franco, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Teresa Polias (c), 7. Nicola Bolger, 9. Princess Ibini, 10. Renee Rollason, 11. Natalie Tobin, 12. Olivia Price, 14. Alanna Kennedy, 15. Teigen Allen, 17. Kyah Simon, 18. Sham Khamis (gk), 19. Leena Khamis

Ins: Ellyse Perry (return from cricket commitments), Renee Rollason (return from injury)

Outs: Hannah Bacon (omitted)

Unavailable: Amy Harrison (knee - indefinite)