Preview: Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory

Sunday’s ABC TV match promises high-quality fare for local fans and national TV viewers alike, as the champions host the leaders in impressive showcase of the Westfield W-League.

Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory

Sunday 2 November 2014

Lakeside Stadium, Melbourne

Local kick-off: 3pm

The pair share a competitive history, highlighted by a penalty shoot-out victory for Melbourne as they won through to their first grand final in 2013. The Glory, however, can move level with five wins apiece should they can take all three points back west.

Until last weekend’s surprise loss in Adelaide, the Glory had won seven straight to take a handy five-point margin at the summit. Little wonder Victory coach Joe Montemurro this week called the Glory as being the “benchmark” in the Westfield W-League this season.

The Victory rarely changed their line-up in the first month of the season, but this week they are without numerous key personnel.

Goalkeeper Brianna Davey is still recovering from injury, forward Lisa De Vanna is serving the second and final match of a club-imposed suspension, while Beattie Goad and Emma Checker are on Westfield Young Matildas duty in Vietnam.

It is a different story for the Glory who are hopeful of having international stars Collette McCallum and Sam Kerr available again.

Regaining their winning momentum will be important for the Glory after last week’s stumble.

There is, however, more pressure on the Victory who lost 2-1 to Adelaide in a rare midweek match. Another defeat here would further dent their top-four aspirations after a three-match winless run.

Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally on ABC1. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #MVCvPER

Melbourne Victory squad: 2. Hannah BREWER, 4. Alexandra NATOLI, 5. Lauren BARNES, 6. Gema SIMON, 7. Stephanie CATLEY (C), 8. Amy JACKSON, 9. Racheal QUIGLEY, 10. Christine NAIRN, 12. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 13. Alexandra GUMMER, 14. Tiffany ELIADIS, 17. Gulcan KOCA, 18. Elli REED, 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (GK), 30. Tori SNELLEKSZ (GK)

Ins: Alexandra Gummer (promoted)

Outs: Beattie Goad (Westfield Young Matildas)

Unavailable: Brianna Davey (leg – 2-3 weeks), Lisa De Vanna (suspension – 1 week), Emma Checker (Westfield Young Matildas)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 3. Carys Hawkins, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 5. Shannon May 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum, 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 17. Marianna Tabain, 20. Samantha Kerr, Kathleen Waycott (gk)

Ins: Collette McCallum, Sam Kerr (returns from injury)

Outs: Thia Eastman, Shawn Billam (both omitted)

Unavailable: Gabrielle Dal Busco (Westfield Young Matildas)