Preview: Newcastle Jets v Brisbane Roar

It all goes on the line in Newcastle on Sunday as the race for fourth reaches a decisive moment as the Jets host Brisbane Roar in front of the Fox Sports/ABC TV cameras.

Melbourne City have a tenuous hold on fourth a point clear of Brisbane Roar, with Newcastle Jets a further four points adrift though with a match in hand.

It will surely be a last throw of the dice for the Jets who have enjoyed only moderate success at McDonald Jones Stadium this term.

Indeed they are now winless for six matches home and away, yet their last outing – a 1-1 draw at high-flying Perth Glory – was among their best performances of the season.

This will be the first meeting of the season between these two clubs. And while the Jets have won only three of 12 meetings, they are unbeaten against the Roar in the last three match-ups.

The Jets are set to welcome back midfielder Arin Gilliland who returns from injury, and the American’s absence has been sorely missed.

Brisbane roared back to form last weekend with a hefty 3-0 win over Western Sydney Wanderers. Hopefully any hangover from that stunning 5-1 loss against Canberra United last month is now out of the system.

With captain Clare Polkinghorne celebrating 100 appearances last weekend, and Tameka Butt nabbing a hat-trick, the Roar boast more than enough experience to do the job, but just how will it play out?

Newcastle Jets v Brisbane Roar
Sunday 15 January 2017
Venue: McDonald Jones Stadium
Kick-Off: 2:30PM (Local) (2:30PM (AEDT))

Referee: Katie Patterson

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 2.00pm (AEDT) and ABC TV from 2.00pm (AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #BeReal

Newcastle Jets squad: 1.Katelyn ROWLAND (gk), 2.Sophie NENADOVIC, 4.Megan OYSTER, 5. Arin GILLILAND, 6.Cassidy DAVIS, 7.Gema SIMON (c), 9.Jennifer HOY, 10.Rhali DOBSON, 11.Tara PENDER, 13.Grace MACINTYRE, 14.Brooke MILLER, 15.Elizabeth COPUS-BROWN, 16.Liana DANASKOS, 17.Jenna KINGSLEY, 18.Clare WHEELER, 19.Ashlee BRODIGAN, 20.Claire COELHO (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Arin GILLILAND (returns from injury), 15.Elizabeth COPUS-BROWN (returns from injury)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 3.Elizabeth O’REILLY (ankle – 3 weeks), 12.Chloe LOGARZO (ankle – 2 weeks

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Nina FRAUSING-PEDERSEN, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Brooke SPENCE, 6.Angela BEARD, 7.Sunny FRANCO, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9.Cortnee VINE, 10.Katrina GORRY, 12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka BUTT, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Emily GIELNIK, 18.Maddy EVANS, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 12.Allira TOBY (promoted), 15.Abbey LLOYD (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil