Preview: Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory

The Fox Sports/ABC TV cameras again visit Hunter Stadium with Newcastle Jets seeking a win which would give them a claim on a semi-final ticket.

The Jets lost narrowly to Melbourne City a few weeks back at the city’s main venue, though of course there is little shame in defeat against the runaway leaders.

This time they enter the match knowing a win against the ever-improving Melbourne Victory will see them edge closer to ending a long seven-year absence from the play-offs.

Newcastle were back to their old resilient selves last weekend grinding out a crucial win at the Wanderers, thus proving their 5-1 defeat against Adelaide United was a mere aberration.

Historically, the Jets have a dreadful record against the Victory winning just two from 11 meetings. However, those two wins have come in the past three matches, including a tough 1-0 win in Melbourne earlier this season.

The Victory have taken a long time to get going this season, but they are now showing positive signs. They were hugely unlucky not to claim a share of the spoils in last week’s 2-1 home loss against Sydney FC.

The Victory are four points off second-bottom Perth Glory with just two matches remaining. They must, therefore, secure at least a point to maintain their chase of the Glory and avoid their first ever wooden spoon.

Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory
Sunday 3 January 2016
Hunter Stadium, Newcastle
Local kick-off: 2pm
(Hyundai A-League double-header)

* Watch all the action Live from 2.00pm nationally on Fox Sports (Channel 505), or ABC TV. Or catch-up on ABC iView.

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Hannah Southwell (gk), 2. Sophie Nenadovic, 3. Georgia Yeoman-Dale, 4. Megan Oyster, 5. Caprice Dydasco, 6. Cassidy Davis, 7. Gema Simon (c), 9. Tara Andrews, 10. Rhali Dobson, 12. Chloe Logarzo, 13. Adriana Jones, 15. Elizabeth Copus-Brown, 17. Jenna Kingsley, 18. Clare Wheeler, 19. Hannah Bromley 20. Claire Coelho (gk)

Ins: Elizabeth Copus-Brown (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: none

Melbourne Victory squad: 20. Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), 2. Alexandra Natoli, 4. Melissa Taranto, 6. Annabel Martin, 7. Enza Barilla, 10. Christine Nairn, 11. MelindaJ Barbieri, 12. Whitney Knight, 13. Thea Slatyer, 15. Adriana Taranto, 16. Hayley Raso, 17. Gulcan Koca, 1. Cassandra Dimovski (gk), 26. Cindy Lay, 27. Natasha Dowie

Ins: Cindy Lay (promoted)

Outs: Briar Palmer (omitted)

Unavailable: Selin Kuralay (knee – season), Laura Spiranovic (knee – season), Jessica Pitts (illness – 1 week), Jamie Pollock (illness – 1 week)