Preview: Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory

This contest shapes as perhaps the most intriguing of the weekend featuring two teams who struggled last campaign, but have strengthened significantly during the off-season.

Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory

Saturday 20 September 2014

Magic Park, Newcastle

Local kick-off: 3pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #NEWvPER

The Jets immediately lifted off with a 1-0 opening win over last year’s champions Melbourne Victory, thus proving in a single match they are a very different proposition to last season’s wooden-spoon showing.

The Glory, for their part, were also hugely impressive in outlasting Brisbane Roar and their bevy of international stars for a 2-1 home win.

Now they make the long trip across the Nullarbor to tackle the Jets in Newcastle where the four matches have been evenly split at two wins apiece.

Avoiding a footballing version of the ‘difficult second album syndrome’ will be a focus for both coaches. An opening win is one thing, but building momentum can be another.

The good news is that both teams have little injury concerns to worry about and are set to be at full strength at Magic Park.

The Jets new-look midfield was a feature of last weekend with Matildas ace Emily van Egmond the fulcrum on her homecoming.

It is, however, perhaps in defence where the Jets will be looking to focus. Glory’s attacking weaponry is matched by few in the Westfield W-League with the pace of Sam Kerr and Caitlin Foord capable of troubling any defence.

Meanwhile Glory captain and striker Kate Gill will be aiming to continue her two-goal form from last week in her hometown.

Newcastle Jets squad: 2. Georgia Yeoman-Dale,  3. Hayley Crawford, 4. Ashley Spina, 5. Katherine Reynolds, 6. Angela Salem, 7. Tori Huster, 8. Amber Neilson, 9. Tara Andrews, 10. Emily van Egmond, 11. Rhali Dobson, 15. Libby Copus-Brown, 16. Cassidy Davis, 17. Grace Macintyre, 20. Claire Coelho (GK), 21. Renee Rudder (GK)

Ins: none

Outs: none

Unavailable: Hannah Southwell (overseas)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum (C), 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), 20. Sam Kerr

Ins: none

Outs: none

Unavailable: none