Preview: Perth Glory v Sydney FC

Historically this match produces goals and drama in equal measure, and certainly it is an intriguing contest which awaits in Perth on Sunday afternoon.

The two have shared more goals in their 14 previous fixtures than any other pairing in Westfield W-League, with a couple of record scorelines along the way.

Sydney lead the way eight wins to six, including a tight 1-0 win on home soil last month.

Ironically, though both teams have found goals difficult to come by this term and indeed that match in Sydney saw a litany of missed opportunities at either end.

Sam Kerr was the chief attacking outlet for Perth that afternoon though she, of course, will be missing with her long-term foot injury.

The Glory boast two former Sky Blues’ favourites in Danielle Brogan and Caitlin Foord, and much of the creative drive will fall on the shoulders of the latter.

The Sky Blues, for their part, hope to welcome back Nicola Bolger and Ellyse Perry into an already strong squad.

It has been an inconsistent start to the season for Sydney but a win here can really set them up well for yet another finals berth.

The Glory are more than capable of overcoming the Sky Blues, and they know defeat here will leave their their semi-final aspirations hanging by a thread.

Perth Glory v Sydney FC
Sunday 13 December 2015
Ashfield Reserve, Perth
Local kick-off: 4pm (7pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #PERvSYD

Perth Glory squad: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 3. Kim Carroll (c), 4. Katie Holtham, 5. Shannon May 7. Nicole Stanton 8. Shawn Billam 9. Caitlin Foord 11. Emily Henderson 12. Katie Schubert 13. Danielle Brogan 14. Caitlin Doeglas 16. Thia Eastman 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk) 19. Ella Mastrantonio 23. Vanessa DiBernardo

Ins: Katie Schubert (promoted)

Outs: Carla Bennett (fractured wrist - 1 week)

Unavailable: Sarah Carroll (foot – indefinite), Samantha Kerr (foot – season)

Sydney FC squad: 1. Michelle Betos (gk), 2. Elizabeth Ralston, 3. Ellyse Perry, 4. Sunny Franco, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Teresa Polias (c), 7. Nicola Bolger, 8. Amy Harrison, 9. Princess Ibini, 12. Olivia Price, 14. Alanna Kennedy, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Hannah Bacon, 17. Kyah Simon, 18. Sham Khamis (gk), 19. Leena Khamis

Ins: Nicola Bolger (returns from injury), Ellyse Perry (returns from cricket commitments)

Outs: Natalie Tobin (omitted)

Unavailable: Renee Rollason (knee – 2 weeks)