Preview: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Monday 6 October 2014

Lambert Park, Sydney

Local kick-off: 5pm

** Listen LIVE on FFV Radio from 2.30pm. Head to or search 'FFV Radio' in the TuneIn smartphone app.

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #SYDvMVC

Yet another high-quality Westfield W-League encounter looms as leaders Sydney FC host champs Melbourne Victory with the pair reprising their epic semi-final encounter from earlier this year.

These two clubs have developed a rich history over recent seasons matching that in the Hyundai A-League between the same pair.

Sydney FC overwhelmed their rivals in the 2013 season decider, but the Victory had their revenge with that dramatic 3-2 semi-final win en route to their maiden crown. Surprisingly, the Victory have only defeated the Sky Blues twice over 12 encounters, yet they have returned home from Sydney with maximum reward in each of the past two seasons.

As has invariable been the case of the seven seasons of the Westfield W-League, two-time champions Sydney FC start the contest in a higher position on the ladder than their southern rivals. That, of course, will count for little when these two high-class line-ups shape-up on the artificial surface at Sydney’s new-look Lambert Park.

The Sky Blues will be aiming to maintain their grasp on top spot, while the Victory – following successive wins which reaped nine goals – are looking to maintain their new-found momentum.

Key match-ups will take place all over the park. Lisa De Vanna and her free-scoring forward line will seek to break down the league’s most frugal defence.

The midfield battle will also be one to watch with in-form Americans Christine Nairn and Elli Reed proving their worth in recent weeks for the visitors, while their Sky Blues’ counterparts may be light on experience but lack little in quality.

Sydney FC squad: 1. Casey Dumont (gk), 2. Teresa Polias, 3. Elizabeth Ralston, 4. Alesha Clifford, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Servet Uzunlar, 7. Nicola Bolger, 8. Amy Harrison, 9. Ellyse Perry, 10. Renee Rollason, 11. Natalie Tobin, 12. Chloe Logarzo, 13. Trudy Camilleri, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Samantha Johnson, 18. Heidi Makrillos, 20. Alyssa Harris (gk)

Ins: Teigen Allen (returns from suspension), Heidi Makrillos (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable:  Kyah Simon (knee – three weeks), Olivia Price (quad – 1 week)

Melbourne Victory squad: 1. Brianna DAVEY (GK), 2. Hannah BREWER, 5. Lauren BARNES, 6. Gema SIMON, 7. Stephanie CATLEY (C), 8. Amy JACKSON, 9. Racheal QUIGLEY, 10. Christine NAIRN, 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 12. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 14. Tiffany ELIADIS, 15. Emma CHECKER, 16. Beattie GOAD, 17. Gulcan KOCA, 18. Elli REED, 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (GK)

Ins: Tiffany Eliadis (promoted)

Outs: None

Unavailable: None