Preview: Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets

The first Westfield W-League match to take place on the fabled ANZ Stadium turf promises to be a unique occasion, but so too the stakes on offer are high.

Winning or losing this penultimate round match could conceivably be the difference between securing passage to the semi-finals or missing out.

Third-placed Sydney FC have a handy four-point buffer on a trio of fourth-placed teams - Newcastle Jets among them. But the Sky Blues final outing is away to the all-conquering Melbourne City meaning a result from Saturday’s match is crucial.

The pair share a rich history although Sydney boast a far superior historical record of eight wins and three losses from their 14 meetings. The Sky Blues are also undefeated against the Jets for the past six matches over four years.

The Jets, though, are different proposition this season. Rarely, if ever, have the Novocastrians been a tougher side to play against. Take out a shock 5-1 loss against Adelaide just before Christmas, and the Jets are only conceding a goal every second match.

Fortunately for Sydney FC, forwards Jasmyne Spencer and Kyah Simon have found their goalscoring boots at the right time of the season. The latter, like several players on both sides, have spent the week in camp with the Westfield Matildas.

Key injuries have hit both squads with young Westfield Matildas pair Amy Harrison and Georgia Yeoman-Dale both absent. Fortunately for Sydney FC they have Ellyse Perry back from cricket duties to bolster the ranks.

Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets
Saturday 9 January 2016
ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Local kick-off: 2pm
(Hyundai A-League double-header)

* Watch all the action Live from 2.00pm nationally on Fox Sports (Channel 505), or ABC TV. Or catch-up on ABC iView.

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #SFCvNEW

Sydney FC squad: 1. Michelle Betos (gk), 2. Elizabeth Ralston, 3. Ellyse Perry, 4. Sunny Franco, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Teresa Polias (c), 7. Nicola Bolger, 9. Princess Ibini, 11. Natalie Tobin, 12. Olivia Price, 14. Alanna Kennedy, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Hannah Bacon, 17. Kyah Simon, 18. Sham Khamis (gk), 19. Leena Khamis

Ins: Liz Ralston (promoted), Ellyse Perry (return from cricket commitments)

Outs: Amy Harrison (knee- indefinite)

Unavailable: Renee Rollason (knee – 1 week)

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Hannah Southwell (gk), 4. Megan Oyster, 5. Caprice Dydasco, 6. Cassidy Davis, 7. Gema Simon (c), 9. Tara Andrews, 10. Rhali Dobson, 12. Chloe Logarzo, 13. Adriana Jones, 14. Brooke Miller, 15. Elizabeth Copus-Brown, 16. Siahn Bozanic, 17. Jenna Kingsley, 18. Clare Wheeler, 19. Hannah Bromley 20. Claire Coelho (gk)

Ins: Brooke Miller, Elizabeth Copus-Brown, Siahn Bozanic (all promoted)

Outs: Sophie Nenadovic (suspended), Georgia Yeoman-Dale (dislocated shoulder - 2-4 weeks)

Unavailable: none