Preview: Sydney FC v Perth Glory

A catalogue of stars and a rich history provides the backdrop to a fascinating encounter on Sunday afternoon as Sydney FC host Perth Glory.

Up to nine members of the Westfield Matildas squad from Canada 2015 could be on show for fans in Sydney’s inner west, although former Sky Blues Caitlin Foord faces a race against time if she is to recover from injury and line up for the visitors.

This fixture invariably provides goals, and indeed the match-up holds both the record Westfield W-League win (11-0 for Sydney FC), and also the most goals in a single match (7-5 in favour of Perth Glory).

The Sky Blues boast a seven-six winning margin over their rivals, yet curiously the Glory have won five of the past six. And the West Australians boasted an emphatic record last year with three wins and nine goals scored against none conceded.

Last year’s premiers, however, crashed to a 4-0 home defeat against a rampant Melbourne City last weekend. The scoreline was a tad harsh on the Glory who created several good opportunities in attack.

While the Glory are seeking to bounce back, it is a hugely important match for Sydney FC. The Sky Blues finally grabbed their first points of the season last weekend with a somewhat scratchy 2-1 win over city rivals Western Sydney Wanderers.  

It is crucial they start securing points at home, doubly so ahead of a bye for the Sky Blues next weekend.

The experience of the league’s most-capped player Renee Rollason is set to be missed due to injury, although Ellyse Perry returns to bolster the backline.

Sydney FC v Perth Glory
Sunday 8 November 2015
Lambert Park, Sydney
Local kick-off: 4pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #SYDvPER

Sydney FC squad: Michelle Betos (gk), Teigen Allen, Ellyse Perry, Teresa Polias (c), Jasmyne Spencer, Nicola Bolger, Leena Khamis, Amy Harrison, Elizabeth Ralston, Natalie Tobin, Trudy Camilleri, Alanna Kennedy, Kyah Simon, Princess Ibini, Sunny Franco, Sham Khamis (gk)

Ins: Ellyse Perry (returns from cricket), Sunny Franco (promoted), Michelle Betos (returns from illness)

Outs: Renee Rollason (injured), Alyssa Harris (replacement goalkeeper)

Unavailable: Olivia Price (ankle)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 3. Kim Carroll, 4. Katie Holtham, 5. Shannon May, 6. Carla Bennett, 7. Nicole Stanton, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 11. Emily Henderson, 13. Danielle Brogan, 14. Caitlin Doeglas, 16. Thia Eastman, 18. Gabby Dal Busco (gk), 19. Ella Mastrantonio, 20. Samantha Kerr (c)

Ins: Caitlin Foord (returns from injury), Danielle Brogan (promoted)

Outs: Katie Schubert, Ellie Lamonte (both omitted)

Unavailable: Sarah Carroll (toe), Angelique Stannett (ankle)