Preview: Western Sydney Wanderers v Brisbane Roar

While both may be out of finals contention, plenty of pride, and indeed goalmouth action, is sure to be display when Western Sydney Wanderers host Brisbane Roar at Penrith in Sydney’s far west.

Western Sydney Wanderers v Brisbane Roar

Sunday 7 December 2014

Sportingbet Stadium, Penrith, Sydney

Local kick-off: 3pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #WSWvBRI

The last time these two met was a historic occasion for the youthful Wanderers who, despite boasting zero wins from their opening four matches, somehow managed to knock over the star-studded Roar with a 2-1 scoreline in Brisbane.

The Wanderers have plenty of incentive to repeat that result with a win meaning they will leapfrog second-from-bottom Adelaide United and avoid the wooden spoon.

Their results over recent rounds have been mixed and the Wanderers will again be without American Kendall Johnson, but influential midfield compatriot Keelin Winters will be keen to end her Down Under odyssey on a high.

Football fans in Sydney will have what will possibly be a unique combination of recognised stars. The Roar will line-up with the newly-crowned Asian footballer of the year in Westfield Matildas midfield ace Katrina Gorry and, for the few next weeks at least, the reigning world player of the year, goalkeeper Nadine Angerer.

Brisbane are seeking their second successive win of the season, a feat they have yet to achieve in a modest campaign. A strong 2-1 win over Canberra United last weekend, capped by a stunning long-range Gorry winner, suggests they are belatedly rediscovering their form of old.

The Roar are set to field their full complement of stars, save for injured duo Laura Alleway and Hayley Raso.

Western Sydney Wanderers squad: 1. Trudy Burke (gk), 2. Caitlin Cooper, 3. Jessica Seaman, 4. Caitlin Jarvie, 5. Helen Petinos, 6. Rachael Soutar, 8. Grace Henry, 9. Keelin Winters, 10. Michelle Carney, 12. Hannah Beard, 14. Demi Koulizakis, 16. Linda O’Neill, 17. Laura Donnelly, 19. Chloe O’Brien 30. Jess Urquhart (gk)

Ins: none

Outs: none

Unavailable: Kendall Johnson (injury – season), Sham Khamis (injury – season)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 16. Angela BEARD, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 18. Sunny FRANCO, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk)

Ins: Ayesha Norrie (promoted), Amy Chapman (returns from injury)

Outs: Hayley Raso (hip)

Unavailable: Laura Alleway (foot)

To stay up to date with the latest news and highlights, sign up to the Westfield W-League Extra here