Champions Sydney FC unveil Westfield W-League 2019/20 squad

Westfield W-League Champions Sydney FC have retained 15 members of the 2019 Grand Final winning squad for their title defence in 2019/20.

Westfield Matildas FIFA World Cup stars Caitlin Foord, Alanna Kennedy and Chloe Logarzo are all in Sky Blue for another campaign, while United States imports Sofia Huerta and Aubrey Bledsoe come back for 2nd and 3rd seasons respectively.

Sydney FC’s long serving captain and record Westfield W-League appearance maker Teresa Polias will enter her 10th season with the club, while two-time Championship winner Elizabeth Ralston will play in her eighth season for the Sky Blues.

Fellow Westfield W-League 2018/19 Championship winner and Westfield Matildas attacker Princess Ibini will also return to her home club, along with Ally Green, Amy Sayer, Angelique Hristodoulou, Natalie Tobin, Shadeene Evans, Taylor Ray and Trudy Burke who are all on board for another season.

Ellie Brush will make her Sydney FC debut this season having represented Western Sydney Wanderers and GWS in the AFL over the last 12 months, while young star striker Remy Siemsen returns to the club alongside new young face Mackenzie Hawkesby.

American star Sofia Huerta returns for a second season in Sky Blue.

“I’m delighted to have the majority of last season’s title winning squad back with us for this season," coach Ante Juric said.

“A lot of our players will be a year older and a year wiser from their experience of winning the Championship last season and to able to maintain that consistency in the squad is fabulous.

“We will be working hard in the next few weeks to prepare ourselves for the upcoming season and prepare for the challenge of winning the 2020 title."

Sydney FC will head to Wagga Wagga for a friendly against Newcastle Jets at McDonald’s Park on Sunday 3rd November in preparation for their title defence.

Sydney FC Westfield W-League 2019/20 Squad

Alanna Kennedy, Ally Green, Amy Sayer, Angelique Hristodolou, Aubrey Bledsoe (GK), Caitlin Foord, Chloe Logarzo, Ellie Brush, Elizabeth Ralston, Mackenzie Hawkesby, Natalie Tobin, Princess Ibini, Remy Siemsen, Sofia Huerta, Shadeene Evans, Taylor Ray, Teresa Polias (captain), Trudy Burke (GK)

Get Onside Limitless banner