Sydney FC unveil 16 signings for Westfield W-League 2020/21 Season

Long-serving skipper Teresa Polias and three new faces from crosstown rivals Western Sydney Wanderers are part of 16 signings made by Sydney FC so far ahead of the upcoming Westfield W-League Season.

The Sky Blues have re-signed 10 of the stars that helped the club reach last season's Grand Final, as well as six new faces to Ante Juric's squad.

Polias will join Rhyan Grant as only the second player in Sydney FC history to surpass 10 consecutive years with the club, while she is already the Westfield W-League’s leading appearance maker with 144 matches under her belt.

“It’s an honour to continue as captain, Sydney FC is my home and I’ll be giving my all to ensure we go one better and deliver silverware in the new season," Polias said.

“Add to that some fantastic additions and I think we have all the makings of a Championship winning squad.

“It’s an honour to continue as captain, Sydney FC is my home and I’ll be giving my all to ensure we go one better and deliver silverware in the new season.”

W-League Golden Boot winner Remy Siemsen and defensive rock Ellie Brush return while young stars Princess Ibini, Angelique Hristodoulou, Taylor Ray, Ally Green, Natalie Tobin and MacKenzie Hawkesby are also back on board.

Club stalwart Elizabeth Ralston signs again and will enter her eighth year with the club.

MORE: New era for Adelaide United as Stenta appointed new head coach
NEWS: Roar young gun signs for Danish champions

Teresa Polias will continue to lead the Sky Blues in Season 2020/21

The Sky Blues have made three new signings from cross-city rivals Western Sydney Wanderers including Young Matildas goalkeeper Jada Mathyssen-Whyman, striker Cortnee Vine and senior international forward Rachel Lowe.

Midfielder Clare Wheeler joins from a season with the Newcastle Jets last year, while Junior Matilda Charlize Rule and Charlotte McLean complete the squad of 16.

“We are extremely proud as a club and team that we can announce our squad for the up and coming season," coach Ante Juric said.

“It is a youthful team and at this stage an Australian based squad, which is exciting for me as a coach and exciting for the players.

“Personally, I have always wanted to showcase the best of our Australian talent in the W-League and give up and coming talent a chance to shine with an opportunity to debut and play in the league.

“We have always set ourselves high standards and have high expectations as a team and this season will be no different."

The club will begin training once a date has been set for the commencement of the Westfield W-League 2020/21 Season and will be looking to make further additions to the squad as the season approaches.

NEWS: Canberra United announce Vicki Linton as Westfield W-League head coach
MORE: A look back at Kristen Hamilton's outstanding Westfield W-League season

Sydney FC Westfield W-League 2020/21 Season Squad

Teresa Polias (c), Ellie Brush, Ally Green, Mackenzie Hawkesby, Angelique Hristodoulou, Princess Ibini, Rachel Lowe, Jada Mathyssen-Whyman, Charlotte McLean, Liz Ralston, Taylor Ray, Charlize Rule, Remy Siemsen, Natalie Tobin, Cortnee Vine, Clare Wheeler