Victory to represent Australia in inaugural AFC Women's Club Championship

Reigning Premiers Melbourne Victory will fly the Westfield W-League flag and represent Australia in the inaugural AFC Women's Club Championship tournament next week.

The first-ever AFC Women's Club Championship will be held in South Korea in a round-robin format from November 26-30.

The tournament features the three champions from China (Jiangsu Suning), Japan (Nippon TV Beleza) and tournament hosts South Korea (Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels).

Althought Sydney FC are reigning Westfield W-League Champions, Asian Football Confederation rules dictate that Premiership winners are the first criteria for qualification given there are no Finals Series matches in the other leagues. 

Feature image: Melbourne Victory 

Create a Football Account Thin Banner

READ: Incredible story behind Evans' maiden goal, as the teenager blazes trail for Indigenous footballers
REPORT: Sydney stars combine as Champions stun Premiers Victory

Victory have partnered with Global Victoria for the inaugural competition, a leader in Asian engagement with the largest trade and investment network of any Australian state.

“It’s a real honour to be selected to represent Australia at this inaugural AFC Women’s Club Championship,” said Hopkins.

“This tournament will provide a tremendous experience for our girls to compete on the global stage and with the support of Global Victoria, we’re looking forward to proudly representing Australia and the W-League.”

Natasha Dowie and Melbourne Victory head coach Jeff Hopkins hold the Westfield W-League Premiers Plate.
Melbourne Victory qualified for the tournament through winning the Premiership last season
My Football Live banner