W-League Preview: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory

Perth Glory travel to Brisbane Roar for the second successive away match against one of the competition’s heavyweights.

Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory Sunday 12 January 2014 AJ Kelly Fields, Brisbane Local kick-off: 3pm (4pm AEDT)

Perth Glory travel to Brisbane Roar for the second successive away match against one of the competition-s heavyweights, following last week-s hefty loss in Sydney. History, offers little solace for the Sandgropers who have won just once against Brisbane Roar way back in season two of the Westfield W-League.

Brisbane may well have played themselves back into form with last weekend-s 6-2 rout of Newcastle Jets, with the two-time champions having been erratic by their high standards prior to Christmas. Striker Emily Gielnik made a welcome return to the scoresheet last weekend with a double following a lengthy injury absence and she offers a presence that had perhaps been missing from the Roar forward line. The Roar-s high-profile German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer will be absent for this one with the UEFA Women-s EURO winner in Zurich on Monday for the FIFA Ballon d-Or Gala, where she is in line to be crowned world player of the year.

Perth Glory will be reeling from conceding four goals in each half last weekend against Sydney FC. And a 3-0 loss against Brisbane Roar earlier this season offers little to cling to either. There is an upside on the personnel front, however, with inspirational Danish defender Cecile Sandvej returning from suspension and Matildas striker Kate Gill hoping to last the 90 minutes following her return from a lengthy illness.

Brisbane Roar squad: 20. Kate STEWART (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 16. Hayley RASO, Hayley RASO, 21. Teagan MICAH (gk)

Ins: Teagan Micah (replacement player)

Outs: Nadine Angerer (FIFA Ballon d-Or Awards)

Unavailable: Amy Chapman (knee - season)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Chantel JONES (gk), 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Cecilie SANDVEJ, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Shannon MAY, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 15. Jess DILLON, 16. Thia EASTMAN, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 18. Amy KNIGHTS, 19. Shawn BILLAM, 21. Christina JULIEN, Gabrielle DAL BUSCO (gk) (one to be omitted)

Ins: Cecilie Sandvej (returns from suspension)

Outs: None

Unavailable: Aivi Luik (hamstring - indefinite), Kat Jukic (hip - season), Collette McCallum (knee - season), Sasha Andrews (ankle - one week), Kathleen Waycott (hip - one week)

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague