W-League preview: Newcastle Jets v Adelaide United

Saturday’s Westfield W-League match between Newcastle Jets and Adelaide United in preview.

Newcastle Jets v Adelaide United Saturday 8 February 2014 Wanderers Oval, Newcastle Local kick-off: 3pm

It may be the final round of the season, but both teams will be keen to win this one albeit for differing reasons.

The match will mark the final opportunity for Newcastle Jets to claim a win after a fruitless campaign thus far.

Adelaide, in contrast, can end their most productive season in the six-year history of the Westfield W-League by finishing fifth for the first time.

A victory for the Lady Reds will lock down fifth regardless of other results thanks to their superior goal difference.

The Jets- inexperienced side may have yet to get points on the board, but they have improved over the course of the season and lack little in the enthusiasm stakes.

Coach Peter McGuiness has virtually a full roster to choose from and the side will benefit from the return of two of their most experienced personnel; Hannah Beard and Ashley Spina.

The first match ended 3-1 in favour of Adelaide in the City of Churches with the home side deserving winners.

Adelaide-s tenacity and sheer will to succeed has been a trademark of what has been a breakthrough campaign.

Indeed, but for some unlucky results - epitomised by a recent last-gasp defeat against Sydney FC - the Lady Reds would still be pushing for a finals berth on the final weekend of the season.

United have fielded a largely unchanged line-up in recent weeks benefitting the addition of Louise Mason and teenager tyro Emily Condon.

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Eliza Campbell (gk), 2. Hannah Brewer, 3. Stacey Day, 4. Siahn Bozanic, 5. Ciara McCormick, 6. Ashley Spina, 7. Gema Simon (c), 9. Tara Andrews, 10. Rhali Dobson, 11. Grace McIntyre, 12. Hannah Beard, 13. Jasmin Courtenay, 16. Cassidy Davis, 18. Clare Wheeler, 19. Adrianna Jones, 20. Claire Coelho (gk) (one to be omitted)

Ins: Ashley Spina, Hannah Beard (both return from injury)

Outs: Lauren Brown (omitted)

Unavailable: Maddy Searl (knee)

Adelaide United squad: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk), 6. Laura STOCKDALE, 7. Rachael QUIGLEY, 8. Emily CONDON, 9. Lisa-Marie WOODS, 10. Monique IANNELLA, 12. Daila TAIS-BORG, 15. Jenna McCORMICK, 17. Tiarn POWELL, 18. Jessica NAGEL, 19. Daniela Di BARTOLO, 20. Kelly BARLTROP (gk), 21. Snez VELJANOVSKA 23. Kristy MOORE (c), 24. Louise MASON

Ins: Daniela Di Bartolo (promoted)

Outs: Jayah Brown (omitted)

Unavailable: Bianca Gray (knee), Isabel Hodgson (injury)

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague