W-League preview: Sydney FC v Adelaide United

The contest between Sydney FC and Adelaide United perhaps holds more intrigue than any other in this weekend's opening Westfield W-League round.

Sydney FC v Adelaide United

Sunday 14 September 2014

Lambert Park, Sydney

Local kick-off: 4pm                                                              

Both squads have changed considerably from last season. The Sky Blues boast fewer headline names, while the Lady Reds have altered nearly half of their squad. The constant for both teams though is on the coaching bench where the experienced Alen Stajcic and Ross Aloisi both have clear visions of what they are aiming for and how to achieve it.

Sydney FC may have lost numerous star players but squad turnover has been common across several seasons, yet the Sky Blues have rarely disappointed. A feature of last season was the team’s pacy forward line and dynamic transitional attack. Those forwards may have exited but ball-playing midfielders such as Nicole Bolger and Servet Uzunlar will feature. Focus too will be on American duo Jasmyne Spencer from Western New York Flash and Chicago Red Stars’ Samantha Johnson, though both of whom are little known on these shores.

Team over individual was Aloisi’s mantra last season, and the dividends were huge. Adelaide’s long-held grasp on the wooden spoon was suddenly a distant memory as the Lady Reds fell only narrowly shy of a miraculous finals appearance. Numerous highly-regarded local youngsters have been named in the season’s squad, while Denmark’s most-capped player Katrine Pederson adds some much needed experience.

Sydney FC squad: Casey Dumont, Elizabeth Ralston, Olivia Price, Heidi Makrillos, Trudy Camilleri, Alyssa Harris, Renee Rollason, Servet Uzunlar, Samantha Johnson, Teigen Allen, Teresa Polias, Natalie Tobin, Nicola Bolger, Jasmyne Spencer, Amy Harrison, Chloe Logarzo.

Season ins: Jasmyne Spencer (Western New York Flash/USA), Servet Uzunlar (Western Sydney Wanderers), Teigen Allen (Western Sydney Wanderers, Western New York Flash/USA), Samantha Johnson (Chicago Red Stars/USA), Heidi Makrillos (GHFA Koalas, Sydney), Alyssa Harris (Manly United, Sydney)

Seasons outs: Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory), Danielle Brogan (Notts County/England), Caitlin Foord (Perth Glory), Anna Green (Notts County/England), Jodie Taylor (Washington Spirit/USA), Sham Khamis (Western Sydney Wanderers), Emma Kete (Western New York Flash/USA)

Unavailable:  Kyah Simon (knee), Ellyse Perry (injury – one week), Alesha Clifford (injury – one week)

Adelaide United squad: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Lauren Steer, Dylan Holmes, Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon, Lisa-Marie Woods, Isabel Hodgson, Daila Borg, Rachel Alonso, Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham, Tiarn Powell, Georgia Campagnale, Sarah Willacy, Kristy Moore (C)

Season ins: Lauren Steer (SA NTC), Dylan Holmes (SA NTC), Katrine Pedersen (Stabaek, Norway), Alexandra Chidiac (SA NTC), Rachel Alonso (Bundoora United FC, Melbourne), Katie Holtham (Notts County/England), Georgia Campagnale (Adelaide City), Sarah Willacy (Adelaide City), Gaby Bently (SA NTC)

Seasons outs: Kelly Barltrop, Jayah Brown, Daniela Di Bartolo, Alexandra Gummer (Melbourne Victory), Jessica Nagel, Racheal Quigley (Melbourne Victory), Tegan Riding, Laura Stockdale, Snezana Veljanovska (injury), Jessica Waterhouse, Louise Mason, Bianca Gray (injury)

Unavailable: none