W-League set for Summer of Football

All you need to know for the Westfield W-League’s Summer of Football featuring ten matches in eleven days.

We have just passed the halfway point of the competition, and with three further rounds to be completed by early in the New Year, the coming week and a half will go a long way towards determining which teams feature in the play-offs.

A catalogue of Westfield Matildas and international stars will be in action over the holiday period. Of particular interest will be Sydney FC’s new signing Francisca Ordega who is expected to be in action as the Sky Blues host Brisbane Roar at Lambert Park on Friday evening (23 December), in what is always a highlight on the Westfield W-League calendar.

TV viewers will also be well looked after with two big matches to be broadcast between Christmas and New Year on Fox Sports/ABC TV.

First up on Tuesday 27 December will be an epic match-up as champions Melbourne City host Perth Glory at AAMI Park (5.05pm).

The TV cameras will return a day later as Melbourne Victory welcome red-hot Canberra United at the same venue and time. Also returning to Westfield W-League action is Canberra United’s new signing Lisa De Vanna, and Australia’s co-captain will be looking to make her first start in green against the Victory.

Round 8
Fri 23 December, Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar, Lambert Park (7.30pm local)
Mon 26 December, Newcastle Jets v Western Sydney Wanderers, McDonald Jones Stadium (3.05pm local)
Tue 27 December, Melbourne City v Perth Glory, AAMI Park (5.05pm local) ** TV match

Round 9
Wed 28 December, Melbourne Victory v Canberra United, AAMI Park (5.05pm local) ** TV match
Thu 29 December, Adelaide United v Newcastle Jets, Elite Systems Football Centre (7pm local)
Fri 30 December, Western Sydney Wanderers v Sydney FC, Popondetta Park (7pm local)

Round 10
Sun 1 January, Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory, AJ Kelly Field (3pm local)
Mon 2 January, Perth Glory v Newcastle Jets, Dorrien Gardens (4pm local)
Mon 2 January, Melbourne City v Adelaide United, CB Smith Reserve (7.15 local)
Tue 3 January, Sydney FC v Canberra United, Lambert Park (4pm local) ** Change to date & time

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #BeReal