Western Sydney Wanderers v Adelaide United: match preview

The curtain raises on the new Westfield W-League campaign when Western Sydney Wanderers host Adelaide United this Thursday evening.

New-look Western Sydney come into the season opener following one of the busiest windows of transfer activity in the club's history.

They have a new head coach in Dean Heffernan, Westfield Matilda Amy Harrison to pull the strings from midfield, and a freshly assembled strike-force with United States internationals Kristen Hamilton and Lynn Williams joining from NWSL champions North Carolina Courage.

Wanderers have never made the Finals Series but will be looking to put down a marker of intent against Adelaide United, a team who also have never finished in the top four and fell agonisingly short of doing so last season.

The Reds have put the focus on youth for 2019/20, with the signing of exciting Westfield Young Matildas talent Mary Fowler certainly one to watch on opening day.

Click here to buy tickets

Thursday, November 14 2019
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: Marconi Stadium 
Broadcast: FOX Sports
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

NEW SIGNINGS: All the Westfield W-League Ins for 2019/20 
DON'T MISS IT: How to watch Westfield W-League Round 1


Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

Adelaide United
Adelaide United star Amber Brooks

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WSWvADL  #WLeague

Team news

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1.Abby SMITH (gk), 2.Alix ROBERTS, 3.Sam STAAB, 4.Caitlin COOPER, 5.Courtney NEVIN, 7.Amy HARRISON, 8.Erica HALLOWAY, 10.Kyra COONEY-CROSS, 11.Cortnee VINE, 15.Alex HUYNH, 16.Liana DANASKOS, 17.Tiana JABER, 19.Suzi PHONSONGKHAN, 20.Vesna MILIOJEVIC, 21.Ella MASTRANTONIO, 23.Kristen HAMILTON, 30.Courtney NEWBON (gk).

**Two to be omitted**

 Unavailable: 9.Lynn WILLIAMS (international duty), 6.Denise O’SULLIVAN (international duty), 40.Jada WHYMAN (injury – knee).

Adelaide United squad: 1.Sarah WILLACY (gk), 2.Emily Hodgson, 3.Kahlia HOGG, 4.Mallory WEBER, 5.Charlotte GRANT, 6.Georgia CAMPAGNALE, 7.Ciara FOWLER, 8.Emily CONDON, 9.Mary FOWLER, 11.Laura JOHNS, 12.Isabel HODGSON, 14.Julia ASHLEY, 16.Dylan HOLMES, 17. Matilda McNamara, 18.Lais ARAUJO, 20.Evelyn GOLDSMITH (gk), 22.Amber BROOKS (c)

Ins: Nil

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil



Western Sydney Wanderers v Adelaide United

Pick a winner
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Women
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Women
Adelaide United Women
Adelaide United Women

Pick a winner

Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season Draw Thin Banner