Westfield Matilda wins AFC Player of the Year

Westfield Matilda Caitlin Foord has been crowned Women's AFC Player of the Year 2016 at the AFC Awards overnight in Abu Dhabi, one of three awards for Australia.

Foord, who plays for Sydney FC in the Westfield W-League, was one of two Australians nominated along with Lisa de Vanna and China's Tan Ruyin for AFC's most prestigious Women's Player Award. 

For all the winners, head to www.the-afc.com.

Foord becomes only the second player after China’s Ma Xiaoxu to receive both the youth and senior accolades following her AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year success in 2011.

In other awards, FFA won the AFC President Recognition Awards for Grassroots Football (Inspiring). 

And the AFC Referees Special Award (Women) went to Australia''s Kate Jacewicz and Renae Coghill, along with India's Uvena Fernandes.