Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 8 Review

Leaders Perth Glory are now seven points clear at the summit of the Westfield W-League ladder following their action-packed 3-1 win over Melbourne Victory in the ABC TV match.

The Glory were forced to come from behind in Melbourne with two goals in the final ten minutes sealing three important points to move further ahead of Sydney FC.

On Saturday, traditional rivals Sydney FC and Brisbane Roar shared the spoils with a high-quality 1-1 draw.

Western Sydney Wanderers nearly collected a third famous win for the season only for third-placed Canberra United to equalise through Ellie Brush in the final minute.

Canberra United 1 (Ellie Brush 90’)

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Hannah Beard 10’)

Saturday 1 November 2014

McKellar Park, Canberra

Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Lara Smith

Canberra United: Chantel Jones (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Grace Field, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey, Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Catherine Brown Julia De Angelis, Grace Maher

Cautions – none

Western Sydney Wanderers: Trudy Burke (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Caitlin Jarvie, Helen Petinos, Rachael Soutar, Kendall Johnson, Keelin Winters, Michelle Carney, Hannah Beard, Linda O’Neill

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk), Lorena Bugden, Grace Henry, Demi Koulizakis

Cautions – Michelle Carney 57’, Hannah Beard 65’, Rachel Soutar 80’


Sydney FC 1 (Jasmyne Spencer 85’)

Brisbane Roar 1 (Tameka Butt 66’)

Saturday 1 November 2014

Lambert Park, Sydney

Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Sydney FC: Alyssa Harris (gk), Teresa Polias, Liz Ralston, Alesha Clifford, Jasmyne Spencer, Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger (Georgia Plessas 72’), Renee Rollason, Chloe Logarzo, Teigen Allen, Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Sian McLaren (gk), Heidi Makrillos, Melissa Caceres,

Cautions – Teresa Polias 35’, Renee Rollason 94’

Brisbane Roar: Kate Stewart (gk), Laura Alleway (Natasha Wheeler 76’), Amy Chapman (Vedrana Popovic 85’), Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence, Hayley Raso (Ayesha Norrie 57’), Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Katrina Gorry, Emily Gielnik, Tameka Butt

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Hayley Raso 45+1’


Melbourne Victory 1 (Rachael Quigley 4’)

Perth Glory 3 (Alanna Kennedy 40’, Elisa D’Ovidio 81’, Caitlin Foord 89’)

Sunday 2 November 2014

Lakeside Stadium, Melbourne

Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Melbourne Victory: Cassandra Dimovski (gk), Hannah Brewer, Lauren Barnes, Gema Simon, Stephanie Catley, Amy Jackson, Racheal Quigley, Christine Nairn, Ella Mastrantonio, Tiffany Eliadis (Gulcan Koca 70’), Elli Reed

Substitutes – Tori Snelleksz (gk), Alexandra Natoli, Alexandra Gummer

Cautions – Amy Jackson 34’

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll, Bronwyn Studman, Shannon May (Carys Hawkins 90’), Alanna Kennedy, Gabrielle Marzano (Sam Kerr 61’), Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Collette McCallum, Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain (Elisa D’Ovidio 79’)

Substitutes – Kathleen Waycott (gk)

Cautions – none

Round 8 fixture between Newcastle Jets v Adelaide United to be played 29 November

Westfield W-League ladder: www.w-league.com.au/ladder