Westfield W-League 2015/16 Round 3 Review

Melbourne City now sit on their own at the top of the Westfield W-League ladder after a third win from as many starts.

High-profile recruits Kim Little and Jess Fishlock donned the City colours for the first time, and helped their new side collect an impressive 4-0 win at Perth Glory.

Marianna Tabain and Lisa De Vanna scored in the first half, before Larissa Crummer bagged her second double in as many outings.

There were, however, a couple of shocks as Adelaide United and Newcastle Jets saw off Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory respectively, with both earning just a second win over their rivals in 11 meetings.

Adelaide secured a famous 2-1 victory at Brisbane Roar, while Chloe Logarzo’s strike right on half-time was enough for the Jets to win at the Victory.

Meanwhile, a Leena Khamis double earned Sydney FC a 2-1 win and bragging rights over Western Sydney Wanderers in the Fox Sports/ABC TV match.

It is the first three points of the season for the Sky Blues following two surprisingly hefty defeats.

Next weekend’s TV match promises much with Melbourne City’s credentials to be tested when they face champions Canberra United.

Melbourne Victory 0
Newcastle Jets 1 (Chloe Logarzo 45+2’)

Saturday 31 October 2015
ABD Stadium, Broadmeadows, Melbourne
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandria Natoli, Briar Palmer, Annabel Martin, Enza Barilla, Jamie Pollock (Cindy Lay 79’), Christine Nairn, Laura Spiranovic, Thea Slatyer, Hayley Raso (MelindaJ Barbieri 85’), Jessica Pitts

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk), Melissa Taranto

Cautions – Thea Slatyer 49’, Cindy Lay 80’

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews (Kobie Ferguson 95’), Rhali Dobson, Chloe Logarzo (Clare Wheeler 63’), Jenna Kingsley (Sophie Nenadovic 63’), Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – Georgia Yeoman-Dale 21’, Cassidy Davis 27’, Gema Simon 47’, Hannah Bromley 67’

Perth Glory 0
Melbourne City 4 (Marianna Tabain 12’, Lisa De Vanna 20’, Larissa Crummer 52’, 64’)

Saturday 31 October 2015
Ashfield Reserve, Perth
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Kim Carroll, Katie Holtham, Shannon May, Carla Bennett, Nicole Stanton, Emily Henderson (Caitlin Doeglas 73’), Kathryn Schubert (Ellie Lamonte 56’), Thia Eastman, Ella Mastrantonio (Shawn Billam 67’), Sam Kerr (c)

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – none

Melbourne City: Trudy Burke (gk), Laura Alleway (Jennifer Beattie 62’), Aivi Luik, Steph Catley, Larissa Crummer, Jess Fishlock (c), Lisa De Vanna, Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson, Beattie Goad (Kim Little 62’), Marianna Tabain (Alexandria Chidiac 70’)

Substitutes – Erin Herd (gk)

Cautions – Jess Fishlock 71’

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Elizabeth Grey 83’)
Sydney FC 2 (Leena Khamis 2’, 37’)

Sunday 1 November 2015
Pirtek Stadium, Parramatta, Sydney
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Carmelina Moscato, Kendall Johnson (Chloe O’Brien 30’), Rachael Soutar, Erica Halloway, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard, Eliza Ammendolia (Michelle Carney 45’), Ellie Carpenter, Linda O’Neill, Alix Roberts (Elizabeth Grey 64’)

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Jada Whyman 1’, Chloe O’Brien 65’

Sydney FC: Sham Khamis (gk), Liz Ralston, Jasmyne Spencer, Teresa Polias (c) (Natalie Tobin 90’), Nicola Bolger, Amy Harrison, Renee Rollason, Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen (Princess Ibini 72’), Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk), Sunny Franco

Cautions – Teigen Allen 54’, Jasmyne Spencer 90’

Brisbane Roar 1 (Katrina Gorry 23’)
Adelaide United 2 (Rosie Sutton 10’, Emily Condon 51’)

Sunday 1 November 2015
Cleveland Showgrounds, Redlands, Brisbane
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Brisbane Roar: Haley Kopmeyer (gk), Amy Chapman (Cortnee Vine 62'), Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard, Gabrielle Marzano, Ayesha Norrie (Kirsty Yallop 62'), Katrina Gorry, Tameka Butt (Ashley Spina 77'), Summer O'Brien, Ruth Blackburn, Emily Gielnik

Substitutes – Carrie Simpson (gk)

Cautions - Katrina Gorry 23'

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer (Lorean Steer 65'), Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Chantelle Ryder, Emily Condon, Georgia Campagnale (Allira Toby 79'), Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Tiarn Powell (Marijana Rajcic 69')

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions: Alexandra Gummer 84', Lorena Maggio 93'

Canberra United – BYE