Westfield W-League 2015/16 Round 6 Review

Melbourne City have continued their winning ways with a 4-0 victory over Brisbane Roar to extend their lead at the top of the Westfield W-League to ten points.

Kim Little and Larissa Crummer scored two each in the second half for City, with the Roar losing defender Ruth Blackburn to a red card soon after half-time.

Champions Canberra United returned to the winner’s circle with Nicole Begg scoring the only goal of the game in the dying minutes against Sydney FC.

There was also a late goal as Newcastle Jets earned a share of the spoils through Tara Andrews although Adelaide United, who went ahead through Tiarn Powell, held onto second with the 1-1 draw.

Melbourne Victory, Perth Glory and Western Sydney Wanderers all had the weekend off with just three matches played in the round.

Next weekend will be highlighted by Western Sydney Wanderers hosting champions Canberra United in the Fox Sports/ABC TV match on Sunday in Gosford.


Melbourne City 4 (Kim Little 54’, 61’, Larissa Crummer 79’, 81’)
Brisbane Roar 0

Sunday 22 November 2015
C.B. Smith Reserve, Fawkner, Melbourne
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Melbourne City: Trudy Burke (gk), Jennifer Beattie, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Kim Little, Larissa Crummer (Melina Ayres 82’), Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson (Anisa Guajardo 88’), Beatrice Goad (Alexandria Chidiac 67’), Marianna Tabain

Substitutes – Brianna Davey (gk)

Cautions – Anisa Guajardo 91’

Brisbane Roar: Haley Kopmeyer (gk), Amy Chapman (Sofie Persson 73’), Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard,Katrina Gorry, Kirsty Yallop, Alisha Foote (Ashley Spina 81’), Tameka Butt (Maili Forbes 81’), Summer O’Brien, Ruth Blackburn, Emily Gielnik

Substitutes – Carrie Simpson (gk)

Cautions – none

Red card - Ruth Blackburn 50’


Sydney FC 0
Canberra United 1 (Nicole Begg 88’)

Sunday 22 November 2015
Lambert Park, Leichhardt, Sydney
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Jasmyne Spencer, Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger (Princess Ibini 85’), Amy Harrison, Natalie Tobin (Lyndsay Kohlet 82’), Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen, Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk), Sunny Franco

Cautions – Teresa Polias 90’

Canberra United: Lydia Williams (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Jenna McCormick (Nickoletta Flannery 80’), Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg (c), Ashleigh Sykes (Tegan Riding 89’), Emma Checker, Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Julia De Angelis

Cautions – none


Adelaide United 1 (Tiarn Powell 60’)
Newcastle Jets 1 (Tara Andrews 89’)

Sunday 22 November 2015
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide
Kick-off: 1.30pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Chantelle Ryder (Grace Abbey 87’), Emily Condon (Allira Toby 76’), Marijana Rajcic (Georgia Campagnale 38’), Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Tiarn Powell

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – Abigail Dahlkemper 90’

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews, Rhali Dobson (Brooke Miller 92’), Chloe Logarzo, Jenna Kingsley (Adriana Jones 67'), Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk), Clare Wheeler

Cautions – Chloe Logarzo 41’, Hannah Bromley 55'


Melbourne Victory, Perth Glory Western Sydney Wanderers – BYE