Westfield W-League Grand Final recap: Canberra complete unbeaten season

One of the Westfield W-League’s true forces emerged in the competition’s fourth season as Canberra United broke through to win the double.

Unbeaten on their way to a maiden premiership, the capital club put three years of Finals Series pain behind them by edging Brisbane Roar 3-2 in the 2011/2012 Grand Final at McKellar Park.

The triumph was particularly sweet as they had lost the inaugural decider to Roar in 2009 and suffered semi-final defeats in the two subsequent seasons.

Brisbane entered the match as reigning champions but fell behind to Michelle Heyman’s clinical finish in the 11th minute.

Undaunted by the big occasion, Canberra quickly doubled their advantage when Heyman turned provider for Ashleigh Sykes.

Canberra United players celebrate a goal in the 2012 decider.
Canberra United players celebrate a goal in the 2012 decider.

Roar needed a lifeline and got it in the 24th minute thanks to Emily Gielnik’s tidy close-range finish.

The match remained in the balance until golden boot winner Heyman rose high to head the hosts back into the lead just prior to the hour.

A boisterous crowd of over 2500 fans were ready to party, but Tameka Butt had other ideas as she won and converted a penalty with 25 minutes remaining.

Gielnik then had a chance to snatch a dramatic equaliser, only to be denied in a one-on-one by Lydia Williams.

Instead, Jitka Klimkova’s side held on to cap an historic campaign with a well-earned second trophy.