Westfield W-League Grand Final recap: City goes back-to-back

We’re up to the final game in our look back at previous Westfield W-League Grand Finals and last season’s decider saw Melbourne City make it a second straight title.

In front of a record Westfield W-League Grand Final crowd of 4591 at nib Stadium, City prevailed 2-0 over Perth Glory.

The early exchanges were tight and tense with little when it came to goal-scoring chances before it sprung to life late in the first-half.

Vanessa Di Bernado went closest for the hosts as her shot sailed just over the crossbar before City took the initiative right on the stroke of half-time.

American duo Erika Tymrak and Beverley Yanez combined beautifully to set up Welsh whiz Jess Fishlock to score with City’s first attempt on target.

Not surprisingly, Glory lifted their intensity after the break and it was Sam Kerr who was the focal point as they tried to level the scores.

The Westfield Matildas attacker had a couple of chances, the closest coming when a header flew just wide of Lydia Williams’ post.

City v Perth


And City made the most of the let-off, doubling their lead against the run of play.

After having a hand in City’s opener, Yanez got on the scoresheet herself, curling a classy effort just under the crossbar, going in despite the best efforts of Glory keeper Gabrielle Dal Busco.

While Kerr continued to push and probe for the hosts, there would be no fightback as City capped another amazing season by securing back-to-back Westfield W-League championships.