Westfield W-League Grand Final recap: Roar prevail in Season One

With the 10th Westfield W-League Grand Final to take place on Sunday between Sydney FC and Melbourne City, we’re looking back at what unfolded in the biggest game of the season over the last nine years.

And the first-ever edition of the Westfield W-League saw Queensland Roar host Canberra United at Ballymore Stadium in Brisbane.

In front of almost 5000 fans it was the home side that wrote themselves into the record books with a dominant 2-0 victory.

Having come through a tense penalty shootout in the semi-final against Sydney FC, Roar started on the front foot and took the lead in just the sixth minute.

Ellen Beaumont was the architect, producing a superb left-footed cross which was tucked away by Lana Harch.

It was fresh-faced teenager Tameka Butt that would double Roar’s advantage midway through the first half.

Tameka Butt on the ball for the Roar in the 2008/09 Season decider.
Tameka Butt on the ball for the Roar in the 2008/09 Season decider.

The 17-year-old hit a wicked first-time shot from just outside the box which gave Lydia Williams in the Canberra goal no chance.

United went close to halving the deficit in first-half stoppage-time but keeper Casey Dumont showed off her reflexes to deny Caitlin Munoz.

Speedster Ashleigh Sykes was introduced for the visitors at half-time and immediately gave Canberra more of a threat.

Sykes did have the ball in the net early in the second-half, only to be denied by the assistant referee’s flag for offside.

And while Roar failed to beat Canberra during the regular season, they got the job done when it counted, holding on for the win and becoming the first club to lift the Westfield W-League trophy.

Brisbane Roar