Westfield W-League Grand Final recap: Season Two is Sky Blue

The second edition of the Westfield W-League belonged to Sydney FC with the club doing the Premiership-Championship double.

But they did it the hard way in the Grand Final, coming from a goal down at the break to topple defending champions Roar 3-2.

The Sky Blues started hot favourites but found themselves behind on 15 minutes when Lana Harch – who also scored in the previous season’s decider – put Roar in the lead.

Harch’s first-time volley from Jo Burgess’ knock down sailed into the top-left corner to stun the majority of the 1439 fans inside Toyota Stadium.

Roar held the lead until midway through the second half when Sydney FC’s relentless pressure eventually told.

Heather Garriock won a header inside Roar’s box, with the ball falling to Sarah Walsh who produced a perfect pass for Linda O’Neill to stroke home.

It was game on!

Sarah Walsh celebrates the goal that put Sydney FC in front against Roar.
Sarah Walsh celebrates the goal that put Sydney FC in front against Roar.

Walsh went from provider to scorer just seven minutes later, getting on the end of a superb long ball from Kylie Ledbrook and beating Casey Dumont with a rasping shot.

And 12 minutes from time, the title was effectively Sydney’s as Danish import Julie Rydahl got on the end of Garriock’s pass to lob the ball over the Roar keeper.

An injury-time penalty – converted by Tameka Butt – proved too little, too late for the visitors as it was the Sky Blues’ turn to celebrate winning the Westfield W-League championship.